PDA

View Full Version : ATI X1800XT Demos on nV Cards


jAkUp
11-09-05, 12:42 PM
As some of you know, 2 of the ATI demos are out:
http://ati.com/designpartners/media/edudemos/RadeonX1k.html

Is there any way to get these to run on nV cards? Or has anyone tried???

Dazz
11-09-05, 12:49 PM
I don't think they would run as they use 3Dc it was daid inorder to run the demos without this compression you would need a minuim of 512MB video memory.

xquizette
11-09-05, 12:54 PM
For the toy demo i got this on my 6800GT

This demo requires support of DirectX 9.0c, and support for the 1010102 backbuffer format. The graphics processor and/or drivers in this system do not meet requirements.

If your graphics processor is an ATI Radeon X1800 or newer, please visit ATI.COM to download the latest drivers. If you do not have DirectX 9.0c or newer installed, visit MICROSOFT.COM/DIRECTX

This application will now exit.

jAkUp
11-09-05, 12:54 PM
Oh, so something actually uses 3Dc? haha kidding..

Well, if thats true, it should work with alot of texture swapping on 256MB cards...

EDIT:
Damn, maybe it won't work, maybe if you use 3danalyzer?

myshkinbob
11-09-05, 01:02 PM
open sushi.ini and change:

backBufferColorDepth = 10

to

backBufferColorDepth = 8

and the demo will 'load' without giving the 1010102 error. However after loading it craps out, and the error.txt is quite long, full of errors giving:

ShaderLib Error!: Can't create Vertex Declaration

I -think- the demo uses certain vertex shader instructions that're only supported by ATi drivers? I'm no VS/PS programmer though, it's just a guess.

Dazz
11-09-05, 01:03 PM
3Dc is pretty good but without support from other gfx companies it's dead like everything else. 3Dc si just like DX texture compression which took quite a while before games took advantage of it. HDR has been around since the Radeon 9700 cards but is still limited to only a few games.

xquizette
11-09-05, 01:05 PM
open sushi.ini and change:

backBufferColorDepth = 10

to

backBufferColorDepth = 8

and the demo will 'load' without giving the 1010102 error. However after loading it craps out, and the error.txt is quite long, full of errors giving:

ShaderLib Error!: Can't create Vertex Declaration

I -think- the demo uses certain vertex shader instructions that're only supported by ATi drivers? I'm no VS/PS programmer though, it's just a guess.

cool, yeah it goes to the loading screen but then exits once its loaded

jAkUp
11-09-05, 01:12 PM
3Dc is pretty good but without support from other gfx companies it's dead like everything else. 3Dc si just like DX texture compression which took quite a while before games took advantage of it. HDR has been around since the Radeon 9700 cards but is still limited to only a few games.

Yes I definetely agree, 3dc is very good, however, has extremely limited support. And unless nV jumps to full 3dc also, I doubt we will see very many 3dc textures.

OWA
11-09-05, 01:30 PM
Edit: Oops, I meant to post my results in the other thread. I had two browsers open and posted in the wrong one.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=57785&page=2

Kojiro
11-09-05, 02:34 PM
3Danalyze can run X800 demos on my 6800 GT. It should work for X1800 Demos. Just don't expect it to run good. The X800 Pro Ruby Demo ran like crap using 3Danalyze. Probably because the app is translating on the fly, which uses a lot of CPU cycles.

jAkUp
11-09-05, 03:19 PM
3Danalyze can run X800 demos on my 6800 GT. It should work for X1800 Demos. Just don't expect it to run good. The X800 Pro Ruby Demo ran like crap using 3Danalyze. Probably because the app is translating on the fly, which uses a lot of CPU cycles.

What did you enable to get it to run? I'm trying to run 3DAnalyze with this demo, and its still not working...

ViN86
11-09-05, 03:31 PM
3Danalyze can run X800 demos on my 6800 GT. It should work for X1800 Demos. Just don't expect it to run good. The X800 Pro Ruby Demo ran like crap using 3Danalyze. Probably because the app is translating on the fly, which uses a lot of CPU cycles.
multithreaded support would help that a bit :(

rohit
11-09-05, 06:01 PM
no luck with the 6800 series as yet? damn.. i will pause the download.

nvnuser
04-07-08, 03:17 AM
Has anyone got the Assassin demo running on 3DAnalyze?

If so could you post settings please?