PDA

View Full Version : Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe Bios 1015...beware!


Zandig
11-09-05, 02:57 PM
Just gave the new bios a try and am back to 1014.
The new version (1015) really slowed down my gaming!

Here's the details:


A8N-SLI Deluxe Bios version 1015:

1. Support new CPUs. Please refer to our website at: http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx
2. Fix unstable under 400MHz-Single channel issue.
3. Modify DDR max speed from 400MHz to 333Hz when full loading.

This was the major point for my slowdowns:

> 3. Modify DDR max speed from 400MHz to 333Hz when full loading.

Any other way around this besides going back to 1014?

Riptide
11-09-05, 02:59 PM
I'm still back at 1011 and everything seems fine. What do the newer BIOS really do for you other than add more CPU support and a couple apparently minor bug fixes?

Zandig
11-09-05, 03:04 PM
What do the newer BIOS really do for you other than add more CPU support and a couple apparently minor bug fixes?

LOL! Apparently slow down your machine :p

I always like to stay current but this bios version is a pisser.
Guess I'll stick with 1014 in the meantime as all is well with it.

ViN86
11-09-05, 03:19 PM
yea i have 1013 if you want it. just let me know.

Zandig
11-09-05, 03:31 PM
Apparently the 1015 bios is supposed to fix the crash/freeze issues with NF4 mobos and Creative's line of Xtreme Music and Platinum X-fi sound cards.
But why the heck would they lower DDR max speed to 333 under full load!?!?

ViN86
11-09-05, 03:39 PM
dropping to ddr333 means it increases the divider doesnt it? i mean, if youre runnin ddr400 (1:1) then to ddr333 (6:5) your memory is dropping depending on your HTT/FSB speed.

rombat
11-09-05, 07:34 PM
Hey Zanding, how much memory do you have in your setup? Do you have all 4 of your slots used up, just checking. I am running dual channel, two 1gig (400Mhz) sticks. I just flashed my bios with the 1015 so far so good. I played Ut2004 and still plays the same (fast) didn't see any slow down. I will try some more games and see how they behave and report back.

Zandig
11-09-05, 08:58 PM
Hey Zanding, how much memory do you have in your setup? Do you have all 4 of your slots used up, just checking. I am running dual channel, two 1gig (400Mhz) sticks. I just flashed my bios with the 1015 so far so good. I played Ut2004 and still plays the same (fast) didn't see any slow down. I will try some more games and see how they behave and report back.

Yes I have all 4 slots filled. 2 gig, 4x512mb.
I lost about 13 fps in the Doom3 timedemo demo1@1600x1200 2AA:

Bios 1014 = 88.4 fps
Bios 1015 = 75.6 fps

Running 81.85 drivers. Even manually setting the memory to 400 in the bios had no effect as the bios itself seems to downclock the memory automatically to 333.

It seems that:
> 3. Modify DDR max speed from 400MHz to 333Hz when full loading.
means if all four slots are being used memory is automatically downclocked to 333. Grrrr....

rombat
11-09-05, 10:53 PM
Hmmm thats what I was leaning towards to, it seems if you use all four slots while using daul channel seems to cause some problems. Has any one tried out this bios with creatives new Xfi cards?