PDA

View Full Version : What CPU?


Roadhog
11-11-05, 07:30 PM
What CPU should I get. I want an AMD, preferably S939. I do alot of rendering, and gaming. Also, I dont want to spend over $400.

zoomy942
11-11-05, 07:52 PM
opteron 146.. 'nuff said:)

Roadhog
11-11-05, 08:39 PM
pfft.

zoomy942
11-11-05, 08:42 PM
that hurts:)

Roadhog
11-11-05, 08:57 PM
i said Socket 939...

jolle
11-11-05, 09:02 PM
I guess one of the S939 dual core Opterons or A64 X2 CPUs..
Im starting to look into getting something dual core, even if it would be a small step down in gaming performance in my pricerange.. like X2 3800+ or 4200+ perhaps..
Anand has some reviews of different X2s featuring render tests aswell..
been fiddling a render that took 8mins per frame, 100 frames, and thats 13 hours.. which sucks hehe..

superklye
11-11-05, 09:31 PM
From what I understand, those 3800s OC awesomely. I definitely will be purchasing one next year. :D

zoomy942
11-11-05, 10:01 PM
i said Socket 939...


it is 939:)

Roadhog
11-12-05, 02:31 PM
would like a 3800+ Be faster than that opteron? I want a CPU I can overclock alot also.

superklye
11-12-05, 02:36 PM
would like a 3800+ Be faster than that opteron? I want a CPU I can overclock alot also.
Someone posted a link not too long ago about the Opteron's OCability. They break 3.0GHz--I think on air--no problem.

Roadhog
11-12-05, 02:40 PM
hmm... so you think this opteron 146 would be alot faster in Rendering and gaming performance than lets say a 3800X2 @ 2.5ghz... its 1 core vs 2....

slick
11-12-05, 02:42 PM
Someone posted a link not too long ago about the Opteron's OCability. They break 3.0GHz--I think on air--no problem.

Only if you happen to get the CABYE or CABGE stepping. Opterons with those steppings came from the same print as the first FX-57's, and have incredible OC's.

ViN86
11-12-05, 02:44 PM
From what I understand, those 3800s OC awesomely. I definitely will be purchasing one next year. :D
yea they do. id go for a x2 3800 as well (like i already did lol). runs great. :D

Roadhog
11-12-05, 06:14 PM
sooo, now its down to Opteron 165 or 170.... the 165 is about $120 less, but has less cache, and is clocked 200mhz slower... hmmm...

Anyhow... What mobo's support opterons?

zoomy942
11-12-05, 06:16 PM
most any of them support it. mine worked great. i would go for the larger cache cause if you dont feel like overclocking you'll still have the cache:)

Roadhog
11-12-05, 06:26 PM
i cant seem to find any benchmarks on either of them.

Sazar
11-12-05, 06:29 PM
Go with the 4400+.

Nice spot between all of em. If you like oc'ing, you can go lower. I just like my cache :)

AgentOtaku
11-17-05, 11:46 AM
I was also eyeing something like AMD64 4400 X2

but I don't think I'll upgrade my CPU till next year. Already spent 300 this year on new vid card and another gig of ram

it was my christmas present to myself ;)

zoomy942
11-17-05, 11:50 AM
i'm tellin you guys, a 3 gig opteron is awesome:)

Riptide
11-17-05, 01:08 PM
If you don't want to spend over $400 then the 4200+ X2 is your best option IMO. I think you can find it for pretty cheap now.

Here:
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=120240&AFFIL=pricewatch&NR=1

That's retail w/warranty to. :)

Tr1cK
11-17-05, 01:24 PM
I went from a 3500+ winchester @ 2.4 to this x2 3800+ @ 2.4 and I can say clock for clock with the new forceware drivers, you will get a boost in performance with 2 cores.