PDA

View Full Version : Post your 7800GTX 512MB overclocks in here


Pages : [1] 2

mg1973
11-15-05, 11:30 AM
got my xfx today abit dissapointed with the optimal overclock frequency of 592/1.75 when my default is 580/1.73.

do you think i could ignore that reading and try and go abit higher?

ben6
11-15-05, 11:39 AM
603/1.77 Xfx 7800gtx 512mb

DirkGently
11-15-05, 11:44 AM
I found F.E.A.R to be a good indicator of max clocks. Managed 620/1820 with Coolbits on an XFX XXX edition. Had to lower that to 610/1770 to get F.E.A.R and Lost Coast to run without artifacts. (Average frame rate remained the same in F.E.A.R performance test after lowering clocks).

Would be interested to see more results with after-market cooling used.

Riptide
11-15-05, 11:49 AM
Zalman VF700-Cu should work with this thing I bet. I wonder who will be the first to try it. :)

Roliath
11-15-05, 12:01 PM
I will!!
Once I get my XFX here, i'll take off my VF700cu that's on my BFG and put it on the XFX. Should be interesting to say the least.

Riptide
11-15-05, 12:02 PM
Yes I agree, very interesting. Could you please post before/after temps?

Roliath
11-15-05, 12:15 PM
Yes I will Riptide, I wonder how much more/less the temps will be compared to the massive stock cooler on these GTX's

mg1973
11-15-05, 12:20 PM
seems like ive got the runt of the litter unless they just sent out all the poor overclockers to the uk.

Riptide
11-15-05, 12:27 PM
Yes I will Riptide, I wonder how much more/less the temps will be compared to the massive stock cooler on these GTX's
Thankyou. The VF700-Cu has demonstrated itself to be one hell of a nice little cooler, besting the stock HSF on both the 7800GTX and the X800 series by leaps and bounds. It's hard to believe that the huge cooler included with the GTX512 could be beaten by the VF700, but if there is any cooler aftermarket that could do it that would be the one. I eagerly await your results, particularly w/regard to RAM speeds. I suggest using Copper OCZ ramsinks on the memory if you can. No doubt the 1.1ns stuff runs hot and will need all the help it can get.

GRAFiZ
11-15-05, 12:30 PM
I'll bet no matter what type of air cooling is used on these new cards there will be no real room for overclocks. They're already pushed to the max as it is.

Water or better will be needed to see any type of improvements.

Besides, it appears they're fast enough as it is. ;)

Riptide
11-15-05, 12:31 PM
Oh I agree. I would only put a VF700-Cu on there to help reduce wear and tear. I wouldn't overclock with it.

But I guarantee there will be those that try. :p

Uberhunter
11-15-05, 12:44 PM
max on my XFX was 602 core 1.82 mem

Riptide
11-15-05, 12:48 PM
w/stock cooler right Uberhunter? Just want to be clear about this. :)

Roliath
11-15-05, 12:50 PM
Thankyou. The VF700-Cu has demonstrated itself to be one hell of a nice little cooler, besting the stock HSF on both the 7800GTX and the X800 series by leaps and bounds. It's hard to believe that the huge cooler included with the GTX512 could be beaten by the VF700, but if there is any cooler aftermarket that could do it that would be the one. I eagerly await your results, particularly w/regard to RAM speeds. I suggest using Copper OCZ ramsinks on the memory if you can. No doubt the 1.1ns stuff runs hot and will need all the help it can get.

I will be using OCZ Copper ram sinks, along with the Zalman.
AS5 on the core with Ceramique on the ram.
I'm still stumped as to why people are having trouble getting to 1800Mhz on the ram when its rated for that. Could it be not enough voltage, or that the PCB can't handle the speed? Someone throw me bone here! haha
Maybe a slight increase in voltage for the ram will help it get there.

Riptide
11-15-05, 01:07 PM
I still think it's heat that is the problem w/being unable to hit the full 900MHz on the memory.

BTW you are doing it exactly the way I would as far as how you are installing that Zalman. Good choice on your thermal paste(s) and ramsinks. Very curious to see your before/after results both on temps and clock speeds.

xgman
11-15-05, 01:20 PM
Besides, it appears they're fast enough as it is. ;)

No such thing. :D

shoman24v
11-15-05, 01:37 PM
I'm interesting in buying your stock heatsink from your 512M GTX. PM me.

ViN86
11-15-05, 03:16 PM
seems like ive got the runt of the litter unless they just sent out all the poor overclockers to the uk.
CONSPIRACY THEORY :D
its george w.'s fault, i swear....

Roliath
11-17-05, 02:33 AM
Well, my hard drive died on me! ARGHH!
So i've spent the last two hours getting everything back together and such, its late and I have class in the morning..
BUT, I was able to clock my GTX to 620/1800 haven't played much on the memory side.
Not bad imo.

xgman
11-18-05, 07:54 PM
My auto detect set it to 607/1.79

OWA
11-18-05, 08:40 PM
I'm not sure how it works in SLI (if it tests both cards or what) but mine auto detects 590/1.75 (default is 580/1.75).

Roliath
11-18-05, 08:54 PM
quick update, I disabled the driver internal clock test and was able to reach a max of 630/1875 before I started artifacting.

Gorion
11-20-05, 08:14 PM
so far I have 601/1.8 stable :D

eyoo
11-20-05, 11:03 PM
Well it seems the overclocks aren't as good as they could be compared to other cards like 6800GT's and even 7800GTX. There is no geometry delta clock that overclocks the core like on the other 7800 series cards. So with my regular GTX I could get almost 520 on the core (geometry delta) before artifacts occured. Still 550 isn't bad, and getting 600 is great but it's not really that impressive to me. Ah well, these cards probably bottleneck cpus so bad anyways that a few extra mhz doesn't really change much. So i guess the biggest upgrade on the card that's helping with performance would be the quicker memory.

^^ Patiently waits for his 7800GTX512 in the mail.

Sir Random
11-22-05, 09:18 AM
I will be using OCZ Copper ram sinks, along with the Zalman.
AS5 on the core with Ceramique on the ram.
I'm still stumped as to why people are having trouble getting to 1800Mhz on the ram when its rated for that. Could it be not enough voltage, or that the PCB can't handle the speed? Someone throw me bone here! haha
Maybe a slight increase in voltage for the ram will help it get there.The ram timings must be very tight if it won't do 1800Mhz but you should be able to alter them, and the vdimm, with the NiBiTor bios editor (if it works with 7800's). Anyone tried it yet?