PDA

View Full Version : Using motherboard's built-in ethernet port as hub?

Treason
11-18-05, 01:48 PM
I'm using Windows XP PRO and using a D-Link usb receiver for my internet. I've disabled my ethernet port on my Asus A8V via bios.

Now that I've got a XBox360, how do I go about using the ethernet port as a hub so I can connect the XBox360 to the internet for XBox Live? I also have an extra PCI NIC.

I'm trying to save myself $100 on the proprietary Microsoft XBox360 wireless receiver.

Q
11-18-05, 02:01 PM
I've never done this before and am not sure if it would work. You are probably going to need a hub between the xbox and pc or a crossover cable.

Once you get that connection, under network devices in the control panel select your D-Link and Onboard NIC. Right click and Bridge connection. Hopefully this would work.

chowells
11-18-05, 02:56 PM
It will work providing the XBox 360 works behind NAT, which I'm sure it must.

Just set up Internet Connection Sharing to share the Internet to ethernet port.

You'll need a crossover cable.

Treason
11-18-05, 03:16 PM
Thanks for the instructions. Looks like I have a little Do-It-Yourself to do with the spare RJ45 pass through cables that came with my wireless router. Looking up crossover cable in google, it doesn't look too hard. :)

Treason
11-23-05, 11:39 PM
Erm, which end do I connect to the XBox360? The reversed end or the normal pass-through end?

TierMann
11-23-05, 11:53 PM
It shouldn't matter. Both jacks should be the same so either way around you're connecting the same pins together.

Treason
11-23-05, 11:57 PM
Hmm, ok I tried to enable internet connection sharing on my wireless connection on the properties tab, (Allow other network users to connect through this computer's internet connection)

An error occurred while Internet Connection Sharing was being enabled.

Internet Connection Sharing cannot be enabled.