PDA

View Full Version : New Starship Troopers Demo (Plasma level)


OWA
11-19-05, 11:09 PM
Empire Interactive has issued a new English demo of Starship Troopers, giving you another chance to try out the action game developed by Strangelite Studio. This demo drops us into the second half of 'Plasma Mountain' - the 4th level of the game, where you must lead a force of troopers in the assault to the summit and find that plasma bug.

http://www.gamershell.com/download_11570.shtml

K-1
11-20-05, 03:06 AM
Played it quite a bit last night, much much better than the first demo, it's fun!! Performance is very smooth too on a modest machine. The hand grenades are so um cute lol. Think i'll probably end up getting this guy.

macatak
11-20-05, 06:12 AM
This Demo BSOD's my comp for some reason, i thought it might have been the Beta sound drivers cause i get a squeeling noise through my headphones just before the screen goes black and then BSOD's, i unistalled the Beta drivers and installed the drivers of the installation disk but still the same problem, i try to read what it says on the blue screen but it keeps restarting even though i have disabled 'automatic restart'. Maybe it's the video drivers, might try a different set.

*edit* installed the 81.85's and still blue screens, had 81.94's installed

btw, this demo is installed on a 'just reformatted' HDD with latest mobo/gfx/bios etc fully updated OS

Fotis
11-20-05, 06:23 AM
Owa,how does it run on your X1800XT?

OWA
11-20-05, 11:52 AM
I haven't tried it on the XT yet. I had issues similar to the first one on my main system (i.e. runs in slo-motion and it also crashed once).

Rakeesh
11-20-05, 01:28 PM
This Demo BSOD's my comp for some reason, i thought it might have been the Beta sound drivers cause i get a squeeling noise through my headphones just before the screen goes black and then BSOD's, i unistalled the Beta drivers and installed the drivers of the installation disk but still the same problem, i try to read what it says on the blue screen but it keeps restarting even though i have disabled 'automatic restart'. Maybe it's the video drivers, might try a different set.

That sounds like it might be a buggy creative driver. Read what the bsod says as it should indicate what kernel level program caused the fault.

Note that regular programs can't cause bsods in pretty much any case. 99.9% of the time what happens is it triggers a bug in a program that is running in the kernel space, which causes the bsod.

macatak
11-20-05, 03:26 PM
That sounds like it might be a buggy creative driver. Read what the bsod says as it should indicate what kernel level program caused the fault.

Note that regular programs can't cause bsods in pretty much any case. 99.9% of the time what happens is it triggers a bug in a program that is running in the kernel space, which causes the bsod.

I have a problem atm reading the info on the 'blue screen' because i can only view it for a split second and then it's gone(comp restarts) even though i have 'auto restart' disabled under System Properties, but it looks like you are right about it being a sound driver problem, i just read Demanufakture's post in the Forceware Driver Forum...

I am a regular in the starship troopers forum and have tracked this problem down as it happened to alot of people with sound blaster audigy 2 cards. The latest beta openal driver does not work properly with starship troopers. The 1.84.55 driver however does not exhibit this problem. I had the freezes to and rolling my sound driver from 2.08.0002 back to 1.84.55 totally fixed the problem. However strangelite(the dev) figured out that it's not the drivers fault and that they have a fix for the freeze with the latest audigy 2 drivers. The bad news is that the fix will be in the next patch.

OWA
11-20-05, 03:32 PM
Owa,how does it run on your X1800XT?
The good news is that it actually runs on the XT but it's a little sluggish. Not too bad though and I'd probably be okay playing it that way. In the opening area, I was in the 20s and 30s at 1600x1200. At 1280x1024, it ranged between 25 and 48 with it mostly in the mid-30s. The demo limits the shader quality to medium so I'm not sure how it would be with high quality.

Anyway, I think it looks pretty good and I like it better than the first demo.

Rakeesh
11-20-05, 04:14 PM
Hmm...does anybody besides me experience a ~200ms delay between when you press a key for a movement and when the actual movement occurs?

That is annoying as hell - I can't really tolerate that.

macatak
11-20-05, 05:51 PM
Well i finally got it to run, after installing three different version of SB A2 ZS drivers it still blue screened so i enabled the onboard SB Live and now it runs ok,doesn't like my SB audigy2 one little bit, demos not to bad, might even look at getting the full game :)

OWA
11-20-05, 07:44 PM
Hmm, I can select High for the shader quality on the 7800s but can only select medium for the X1800XT. I wonder why that is.

Gentle
11-20-05, 08:18 PM
**Edit: ISSUE RESOLVED (see below)

Well, if I could actually see the game...

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=14489&d=1132539450

The first demo played o.k. for me...

I'm on a Geforce 6600GT running the most current non-beta drivers for the video card, so that shouldn't be the issue.

---------------------------------
**Edit: ISSUE RESOLVED (sort of)

From the Empire Interactive support website.

Information for Customers that have GeForce 6600 and 6200 Graphics cards.
Please see the information below.

Users of GeForce 6600 and 6200 will notice overbright glow shaders when using driver version 81.85. User should either use a different driver or follow these steps to rectify the situation
1. Open the global.settings file found in the My Documents\Empire Interactive\SST\Settings folder using a text editor.
2. Locate the "Glow" field (located under the "Other" field)
3. Change the value from 1 to 0 (no glow) or 2 (partial glow)

Gentle

leca
11-20-05, 08:49 PM
Well, if I could actually see the game...


Bahahahahahahaha :lol:

Ah thats classic :D

OWA
11-20-05, 08:54 PM
Here's what you're missing. :)

http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/8867/stdemo20051120204902455qw.th.jpg (http://img181.imageshack.us/my.php?image=stdemo20051120204902455qw.jpg) http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/7241/stdemo20051120204922219jz.th.jpg (http://img181.imageshack.us/my.php?image=stdemo20051120204922219jz.jpg) http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/572/stdemo20051120205247400ri.th.jpg (http://img181.imageshack.us/my.php?image=stdemo20051120205247400ri.jpg)

http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/975/stdemo20051120205540908gg.th.jpg (http://img181.imageshack.us/my.php?image=stdemo20051120205540908gg.jpg) http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/8027/stdemo20051120205546657hp.th.jpg (http://img181.imageshack.us/my.php?image=stdemo20051120205546657hp.jpg) http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/6317/stdemo20051120205613817kt.th.jpg (http://img181.imageshack.us/my.php?image=stdemo20051120205613817kt.jpg)

macatak
11-20-05, 09:26 PM
Well, if I could actually see the game...

Gentle

A reinstall of the game is about all i can suggest.

Gentle
11-20-05, 10:33 PM
O.k.

Why this is an issue, I don't quite understand.

But according to the http://support.empireinteractive.com/ website there is an issue with 6600 video cards.

Wonder what it is in particular that causes this issue....

Setting it to "partial glow" solved my issues.

Gentle

------------

Information for Customers that have GeForce 6600 and 6200 Graphics cards.
Please see the information below.

Users of GeForce 6600 and 6200 will notice overbright glow shaders when using driver version 81.85. User should either use a different driver or follow these steps to rectify the situation
1. Open the global.settings file found in the My Documents\Empire Interactive\SST\Settings folder using a text editor.
2. Locate the "Glow" field (located under the "Other" field)
3. Change the value from 1 to 0 (no glow) or 2 (partial glow)