PDA

View Full Version : NF4 SLI-DR - System hangs at VGA Detected


Roliath
11-20-05, 03:25 AM
Specs are in sig.

Okay computer was working flawlessly about two hours ago. I had rebooted because I just installed BF2 (new install of windows, and new drive).
So when I reboot it gets stuck at the 4th LED which according to the manual means VGA detected.

I have tried my old 7800GTX 256MB and it still gets stuck at the 4th LED.
I have cleared CMOS and still no boot. I have video, meaning I can see the Lanparty screen at boot up but it doesn't progress any further.

Help me please, because this is driving me insane!!!

EDIT: before you ask, memory has passed 8hrs of memtest and cpu has passed 12hr of prime95. the system is completely stable!!

jAkUp
11-20-05, 03:32 AM
hmmmm strange....

And you completely cleared CMOS? Have you tried just pulling the CMOS battery out?

Thats a weird problem man... I've never seen anything like that :(

Roliath
11-20-05, 03:35 AM
hmmmm strange....

And you completely cleared CMOS? Have you tried just pulling the CMOS battery out?

Thats a weird problem man... I've never seen anything like that :(

Yeah i've pulled battery out plenty of times.
It's 3:30AM over here, and i'm all out of ideas..
I'm wondering if i'm going to have to RMA my board or my gfx..
but I get video, and it post it just doesn't get past the splash screen.

jAkUp
11-21-05, 04:37 PM
Have you just tried one of the memory sticks?

Roliath
11-21-05, 04:40 PM
Oh yeah I forgot to update this thread.
i got it up and running, not really sure how I did it but its finally back up.

jAkUp
11-21-05, 04:48 PM
hehe thats good :D

Vik1dk
11-22-05, 09:09 AM
You are not the only one....
http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31408
http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31077

Roliath
11-22-05, 10:52 AM
I must say that this is one of the best mobos out for overclocking, but it sure is picky as hell and can be a bitch to troubleshoot.

jAkUp
11-22-05, 11:15 AM
I had a problem like that with my old IC7G... it just started working all of a sudden though :D

Smokey
11-23-05, 05:26 PM
I can see that all your stuff is of good quality, but on rare occasions, as jAkUp said, taking one stick of ram out can sometimes help, and it only needs to be taken out for one reboot, another is the PSU can have a dip in voltages, even though it runs great 99% of the time.