PDA

View Full Version : BIOS update after x-fi install


Monnie Rock
11-21-05, 11:53 PM
Hello everyone,

Are any of you x-fi users with nforce4 mainboards having issues updating your bios after you installed your x-fi?

I sure am

I tried the asus autoupdate software to flash in windows: No go
I tried a bootable floppy with awdflash and the latest bios : No go
I uninstalled all creative software,removed the card,ran driver cleaner: No go

What do I do now?

Zerocool
11-22-05, 12:34 AM
You download the BIOS file 1st and then update in "Asus Updater" right (not through internet)? Also can you AFUDOS update through floppy on ur board? Ive done it that way, never AWDFlash though (it would probly say in ur manual). Havent tried since I installed my X-fi, maybe clear the BIOS and take out the battery for alittle. Good luck
Also the latest Updater is v6.10.02 is that the version ur using?

Monnie Rock
11-22-05, 12:35 AM
What is AFUDOS?

Zerocool
11-22-05, 12:38 AM
Just a different method, I just checked out Asus site AWD is similair. Check out ur manual step by step, it will say what methods you can do. Might not be able to on that board.

CrazyIvan
11-22-05, 12:49 AM
Hello everyone,

Are any of you x-fi users with nforce4 mainboards having issues updating your bios after you installed your x-fi?

I sure am

I tried the asus autoupdate software to flash in windows: No go
I tried a bootable floppy with awdflash and the latest bios : No go
I uninstalled all creative software,removed the card,ran driver cleaner: No go

What do I do now?
Copy the biosfile to a floppy disk (and only that file), reboot and press alt + f2 during bootup. An automated bios update should follow.

Monnie Rock
11-22-05, 02:22 AM
Crazy Ivan

That method did not work.

I copied the bootdisk floppy,awdflash,and new bios on a CD. It worked
Woo Hooo

Better bios so far. When you change the cpu voltage, it acutally does now.

Got my x2 4800 stable in prime95 at 2806mhz

Thank for all the suggestions guys


3DMark05 Score 14047 3DMarks
CPU Score 7544 CPUMarks :D

hoop
11-22-05, 05:07 PM
i have had all the same problems u did and then i was playing around and found that if u put this file (drdflash.exe) and your bios file on a floppy (dont do f2 and alt) let it cycle and thats the only way i could ever get mine to flash.

ftp://ftp.abit.com.tw/pub/download/utilities/drdos/drdflash.exe

surfnet
11-27-05, 09:24 PM
Here ya go. It worked for me. Got it off creative's forums:

In regedit change:

change HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node

to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\aWow6432Node

reboot PC and there ya go, asus update works again. You can change it back after the flash if you wish. I did not and it works (so far) fine.

Surfnet

rudedog
11-27-05, 09:48 PM
Here ya go. It worked for me. Got it off creative's forums:

In regedit change:

change HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node

to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\aWow6432Node

reboot PC and there ya go, asus update works again. You can change it back after the flash if you wish. I did not and it works (so far) fine.

Surfnet
Do you have a link?

I can't find that key in my reg. I only installed the drivers and not the added software

hoop
11-27-05, 09:58 PM
holy cow dude it works.......
your a life server dude....
where on creative forums did u see thast because i searched for that what u said and nodda. can u post that link here please.
theres a thousand other guys in my boat so we need to get the word out.

surfnet
11-28-05, 07:46 PM
Here is the link to the thread.

http://forums.creative.com/creativelabs/board/message?board.id=soundblaster&message.id=35424

hoop
11-28-05, 07:59 PM
wow its been there the whole time, i just never read the hole thread.

rudedog
11-28-05, 08:16 PM
Thanks for the link, checking it now:)