PDA

View Full Version : Am I better off getting two GTX cards and..


dante
11-25-05, 04:43 PM
..and a sli mobo OR should I get a new mobo, cpu and one GTX card? Right now I have:

Asus A8V
AMD A64 3500
eVGA 6800GT
2 gigs Corsair XMS Ram

The idea of getting two cards is enticing. I cant afford to buy two cards, a mobo and a cpu.

superklye
11-25-05, 04:47 PM
Your CPU is more than adequate. What core is it? If it's a Venice, you have absolutely no reason to spend anymore cash on a CPU. Just OC that bitch! :)

Get yourself the two GTXs. You'll be happy you did.

dante
11-25-05, 04:50 PM
You know, I have no idea what core it is. Everytime I try to OC it leads to problems for me. Just dont have the knack for it I guess. Do you think that my cpu is adequet at stock speeds? Will the cards not be bottlenecked by the cpu? Thanks for the quick reply btw

superklye
11-25-05, 05:10 PM
No problem, and hell, those cards are bottlenecked on overclocked FX-57s. It doesn't matter what CPU you have, it's going to be killing your graphics performance to some degree.

That being said, my CPU is 50MHz faster than yours and I've got two 6800 GTs and to be honest, the performance is amazing. There is a HUGE difference between the stock 1.8GHz and OCed 2.25GHz.

What mobo do you have? How have you been trying to OC? And to find out your core, download CPU-Z and run that. It's a fantastic program that'll tell you all sorts of wonderful information about your CPU and RAM.

dante
11-25-05, 05:19 PM
Downloaded cpuz and it says I have a Newcastle. Not good?

superklye
11-25-05, 05:23 PM
Not great, but definitely not bad. Your OCing results most likely won't be anywhere near as good as they would be if you had a Venice. Newcastles are 130nm and Venice are 90nm, so you're going to run into heat problems much quicker.

Have you tried lowering the HTT to 4x or 3x and bumping up the CPU frequency to 230? You'll want to put your RAM at a 6:5 divider, unless you know it can run stable at 230MHz. Then, just bump the vcore a bit and see if that does it.

Peoples-Agent
11-25-05, 05:29 PM
I have a Venice 3500+ and can't even hit an FSB of 220 regardless of memory timings. Just an unlucky duff OC'er!

zoomy942
11-25-05, 05:51 PM
you know, you could get an opteron, have superklye tell you how to overclock it like he did me, and have a 3 gigahertz cpu:) mine is trucking right along... 1.55 volts and 3ghz

dante
11-25-05, 06:01 PM
you know, you could get an opteron, have superklye tell you how to overclock it like he did me, and have a 3 gigahertz cpu:) mine is trucking right along... 1.55 volts and 3ghz
Do you mean a Opteron 148 like this one?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103595

Would that cpu oc'd to 3.0ghz outperform a dual core 4400 for example? I did'nt see a 146 at NewEgg like the one in your sig.

zoomy942
11-25-05, 06:13 PM
if you are doing one thing at a time, yes. but i'm not sure about the multitasking part of it. i have a 146, and it runs fine at 3.0

superklye
11-25-05, 06:47 PM
I'm glad it's working for you, P, and glad I could help. :)