PDA

View Full Version : 3500+ Newcastle Voltage?


tacos4me
11-25-05, 10:23 PM
What is a safe voltage? I spent a hour or so overclocking today and got up to 2.4Ghz, I could probably go higher but I don't want to push the voltage too much. Crappy overclocker..

HTT is at 218Mhz, wasn't stable without upping the voltage. Locked up after a few minutes of prime at anything less then Vcore at 1.6125v and memory at 2.85v. I don't really know much about memory timings and everything.. if someone could help me out there.

I'm using stock HSF with AS5 on it.. CPU idles around 38-39c and load is up around 53c. Am I going to fry it or what? :eek:

superklye
11-25-05, 10:42 PM
I wouldn't go much higher than that if I were you. Are you running the RAM at 1:1 or at something like 6:5?

tacos4me
11-25-05, 10:57 PM
I wouldn't go much higher than that if I were you. Are you running the RAM at 1:1 or at something like 6:5?

1:1

superklye
11-25-05, 11:05 PM
Put it at 6:5 (so your RAM is at 166MHz) and push the CPU frequency to 250. That'll put the RAM at about 208MHz (416MHz effectively), and lower the HTT to at least 4, but maybe even 3x. I have mine at 3x and there is almost no difference in performance.

So yeah, do that, put the vcore at like 1.5 and see if it's stable.

einstein_314
11-26-05, 02:51 PM
I've read that it is safe to have the voltage up to 1.65V on the core. More than that with better cooling. Because you're on stock cooling, I'd say don't go much higher than you are right now.

john19055
12-01-05, 05:04 PM
Since the default is 1.5v ,I would'nt go any higher then what you have it ,I never would go past 1.6v with mine,but I was scared because I did'nt want to mess it up.,but the price has come down now ,so I might go higher since I know it will run at 2.7g at 1.675v.