PDA

View Full Version : 1600x1200 does not work with 81.xx series


Pages : [1] 2

passionne
11-26-05, 10:02 AM
Hello,

I posted the same problem 1 month ago but I was not able to solve my problem. I hope that this time, someone will be able to help me and maybe, Nvidia be aware of my issue.

I installed a few Forceware 81.xx drivers (81.84, 81.85, 81.87, 81.95) and I have the following problem : 1600x1200 resolution does not work when I use DVI connection.

More exactly, when I choose 1600x1200 in "screen resolutions and refresh rates" menu, I have lines all over the screen, I cannot see the desktop anymore :

http://falguieres.perso.cegetel.net/pb%20Forceware%208195%20002.jpg


I had this problem with all the previous drivers (77.77, 78.01) but I managed to bypass it by specifying 1600 and 1200 pixels in "Advanced Timing" submenu. It worked with 77.77, 78.01 and 78.03 drivers but not with 81.xx ones :

http://falguieres.perso.cegetel.net/pb%20Forceware%208195%20005.jpg

http://falguieres.perso.cegetel.net/pb%20Forceware%208195%20006.jpg

With 81 series, the advanced timings is different : I can choose the pixels number for the front-end and the back end. So I type 1600 for the horizontal part in the front-end and back-end fields. And I type 1200 for the vertical part in the front-end and back-end fields :

http://falguieres.perso.cegetel.net/pb%20Forceware%208195%20004.jpg


And I apply my changes. 1600x1200 resolution is applied but in a 1280x1024 window, the resolution which is selected in the main "screen resolutions and refresh rates" menu :

http://falguieres.perso.cegetel.net/pb%20Forceware%208195%20001.jpg

And if I change 1280x1024 by 1024x768, I always have 1600x1200 but in a 1024x768 window this time. The only way to have a 1600x1200 window would be to choose this resolution in the "screen resolutions and refresh rates" menu but I always have the lines all over the screen.

I checked that the driver frequencies are compliant with the screen frequencies. I tested with and without SLI enabled. I installed RefreshForce but it did not solve the problem. I installed the 81.95 driver on a fresh Windows install, so this is not an incompatibility problem. I applied the "Advanced Timings" parameters from 78.01 driver into the 81.xx ones, since they work with 78.01 Forceware. Same problem.

Only, 1 time, I managed to have 1600x1200 with 81.87 Forceware, after many trials in "advanced timings" submenu. So, I wrote all the parameters on a sheet of paper and I rebooted to check if they always worked. And this time, always the same symptom, lines all over the screen. So, after connecting to VGA plug in order to access the screen again, I chose 1280x1024 resolution, connected to DVi plug again and I applied the parameters which worked before. And this time, they did not work, I always had this problem :

http://falguieres.perso.cegetel.net/pb%20Forceware%208195%20001.jpg

So, really, I am annoyed. I would like to make the 81.95 work since I noticed a huge performance increase with my X2 on 3DMark05, Aquamark 3...And above all, I ordered the new 7800 GTX 512 MB which only works from 81.xx series.

Would someone have an idea ? Or would it be possible to forward this request to Nvidia to make them aware of such a problem ?

My configuration :

DFI Lan Party nF4 SLI-D, bios 6/23-3
AMD X2 4400+
2 XFX 7800 GTX, 78.03 driver
LCD Videoseven L20CM

adamb2k5
11-26-05, 02:59 PM
I run everything in 1600x1200 using 81.95. I am using DVI.

rudedog
11-26-05, 03:36 PM
Does your monitor actualy support 16x12? If so do you have any drivers for it?

passionne
11-26-05, 04:15 PM
Does your monitor actualy support 16x12? If so do you have any drivers for it?

Yes, my monitor supports 1600x1200 since I am using it in this resolution via DVI interface, but with 7x.xx drivers.

I already installed the monitor driver but that does not solve the problem.

For my monitor, I am forced to adjust manually the settings in "advanced timings " submenu and with 81.xx, it seems that this submenu is bugged : when I change the parameters, it looks as if the back window remains at 1280x1024 whereas I wrote 1600x1200 for this one. On the other hand, the front window loads the good values, 1600 and 1200.

But if it is a bug, Nvidia should correct it. It is really frustrating.:(

passionne
11-26-05, 04:19 PM
I run everything in 1600x1200 using 81.95. I am using DVI.

what is your monitor ? Indeed, for a few ones, adjusting the resolution directly in the Forceware driver causes no problems and for other ones, there are incompatibilities like mine. So, the solution is to bypass with the "advanced timings" submenu.

Yaboze
11-26-05, 05:53 PM
I am using the 81.95 driver with DVI on a Dell 2001FP (20.1) @1600x1200. No problems here.

Wolken007
11-27-05, 12:35 AM
Dude, I have the same problem. I try to set my monitors resolution to 1680x1050 and it will not allow me to do so. The area to set advanced timings is bugged, it does not allow certain settings that I could obtain on older driver packages. It has been annoying me for quite some time now.

passionne
11-27-05, 03:47 AM
Dude, I have the same problem. I try to set my monitors resolution to 1680x1050 and it will not allow me to do so. The area to set advanced timings is bugged, it does not allow certain settings that I could obtain on older driver packages. It has been annoying me for quite some time now.

Would someone know how to inform Nvidia of this problem ?

Sure that it is a bug. And it seems that Nvidia is not aware of it since it exists since the 81.xx drivers launch, a few months ago. And was not corrected.

jmit
11-29-05, 02:12 PM
hmm... i've got exactly the same problem with my setup (gf6800gt and videoseven l20cm)... dvi and 1600x1200 don't work together... btw analog input works fine... that's definitely a bug...

passionne
11-29-05, 02:47 PM
hmm... i've got exactly the same problem with my setup (gf6800gt and videoseven l20cm)... dvi and 1600x1200 don't work together... btw analog input works fine... that's definitely a bug...

But, with VGA, there are quality losses in terms of luminosity and contrast, especially noticed in dark games.

I sent an e-mail yesterday to a person who will forward this problem directly to Nvidia. I hope that Nvidia will correct this bug in the next Forceware release.

Wolken007
11-29-05, 03:32 PM
Same thing i noticed, VGA results in a loss of quality of the image overall. Much better using DVI. Hopefully they will correct this issue. Keep us posted on how it goes.

passionne
11-29-05, 03:36 PM
Same thing i noticed, VGA results in a loss of quality of the image overall. Much better using DVI. Hopefully they will correct this issue. Keep us posted on how it goes.

OK.

fade11
12-08-05, 10:53 AM
1600x1200 here, I can confirm that it's FLAKY at best.

I get the screen going off and on sometimes with these drivers, sometimes it comes back, sometimes it comes back blurry, sometimes it just dies.

Superfly
12-08-05, 11:12 AM
were's Jimi when you need him, I've got too many open bug reports to log another one just yet.

passionne
12-08-05, 11:17 AM
were's Jimi when you need him, I've got too many open bug reports to log another one just yet.

Do you have a feedback from Nivida ? Will Nvidia correct this issue in the next Forceware release ?

Superfly
12-08-05, 11:24 AM
I hav'nt logged a bug report if you read my post, maybe Jimi will pick up on it for you.

passionne
12-08-05, 11:39 AM
I hav'nt logged a bug report if you read my post, maybe Jimi will pick up on it for you.

OK, I have just contacted Jimi.

Thanks.

darkrider01
12-08-05, 01:06 PM
I'm using 81.95 on a 6600GT with DVI on a 2001FP at 1600x1200 at work. It's working great for me. Hope your problem gets solved.....(xmassign)

Superfly
12-08-05, 01:09 PM
I'm using 81.95 on a 6600GT with DVI on a 2001FP at 1600x1200 at work. It's working great for me. Hope your problem gets solved.....(xmassign)

Yeh it works fine for me at work too which is why I've not logged anything.

passionne
12-08-05, 01:13 PM
Yeh it works fine for me at work too which is why I've not logged anything.

This problem occurs with only a few LCD monitors.

Wolken007
12-08-05, 01:56 PM
I really hope they resolve it in the next driver release. 81.84 was the last release that worked for me. Still using them.

lapino
03-28-06, 06:02 AM
Got same problem when using 1600x1050 (latest drivers) on a Acer 2051W but only when setting flat panel settings to something other than "monitor scaling".

passionne
03-28-06, 09:21 AM
Finally, since Nvidia support is so bad, I sold my Nvidia cards and bought an ATI one.

rflair
03-28-06, 12:35 PM
Why does it say 61Hz for your monitors refresh rate, most LCD's default to 60Hz and some 75Hz, that extra 1Hz on a digital display could be throwing evrything out of whack.

passionne
03-28-06, 12:37 PM
Why does it say 61Hz for your monitors refresh rate, most LCD's default to 60Hz and some 75Hz, that extra 1Hz on a digital display could be throwing evrything out of whack.

I tested several frequencies : 60, 61 Hz...And always the same problem.