PDA

View Full Version : overclocking dual core


fasedww
11-29-05, 07:55 PM
Ok when I get my operton 170, How do people check there overclocks on each of the cores? Also what does the Driver's (xmasmile) I downloaded from amd for the opertons and win Xp, does it effect the way windows works with it.

ViN86
11-29-05, 09:47 PM
CPUz will show the clock speed of each core. you just have to select which core from a little drop down menu on the bottom of the main screen

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/775/cpuz9uy.th.jpg (http://img208.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cpuz9uy.jpg)

to test stability, i run two instances of Prime95, and set the affinity of the two programs so that one runs on each core. also, when you do this, select the custom test and specify about half of your RAM size, so you dont utilize the pagefile too much

regarding the drive, tbh i dont know how much windows changes based on the driver. im sure it organizes things a little differently and runs certain programs different ways as to optimize performance. its all for the good though, and some people get errors without the driver installed.

fasedww
11-29-05, 10:06 PM
CPUz will show the clock speed of each core. you just have to select which core from a little drop down menu on the bottom of the main screen

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/775/cpuz9uy.th.jpg (http://img208.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cpuz9uy.jpg)

to test stability, i run two instances of Prime95, and set the affinity of the two programs so that one runs on each core. also, when you do this, select the custom test and specify about half of your RAM size, so you dont utilize the pagefile too much

regarding the drive, tbh i dont know how much windows changes based on the driver. im sure it organizes things a little differently and runs certain programs different ways as to optimize performance. its all for the good though, and some people get errors without the driver installed.
ok got it thanks for the info.(xmasmile)

Roadhog
11-29-05, 11:02 PM
so what overclocks are people getting on the 170's? Im looking into buying one if it overclocks good.

Roliath
11-29-05, 11:03 PM
I'm currently at 2.6Ghz with 1.44vcore. CCBWE 0541RPMW (crappiest week I hear).

Roadhog
11-29-05, 11:25 PM
whats your superPi 1M score? Please?

ViN86
11-29-05, 11:39 PM
i got 37s, that any good?

Roadhog
11-29-05, 11:41 PM
I suppose, but i want to know what a opteron 170 gets, stock and overclocked :D

ViN86
11-29-05, 11:51 PM
lol i knew that, i just didnt know if it was good or not hahaha

Roliath
11-29-05, 11:52 PM
not sure what it gets stock but SPi i get about 31.5 seconds...
SPi is really dependent on mem timings though, and raw clock speed.

TierMann
11-30-05, 12:22 AM
I get 36s OC'd to 2.4 if that helps any with comparison.

Roliath
11-30-05, 12:34 AM
Some superpi
1M
http://www.supload.com/thumbs/default/spi1.png (http://www.supload.com/free/spi1.png/view/)
32M
http://www.supload.com/thumbs/default/spi32.png (http://www.supload.com/free/spi32.png/view/)
3DMark05 - 620/1800 - 2.6Ghz
http://www.supload.com/thumbs/default/10822.png (http://www.supload.com/free/10822.png/view/)
3DMark03 - 620/1800 - 2.6Ghz
http://www.supload.com/thumbs/default/22119.png (http://www.supload.com/free/22119.png/view/)
3DMark01 - 620/1800 - 2.6Ghz
http://www.supload.com/thumbs/default/33325.png (http://www.supload.com/free/33325.png/view/)

Roliath
11-30-05, 01:21 AM
Sure doesn't, right...

Must find opty avatar tonight

Roadhog
11-30-05, 11:08 AM
How are the new Denmark cores?