PDA

View Full Version : Full bank of RAM on a A8N-SLI with Venice core CPU


chowells
11-30-05, 03:55 PM
I've currently got 2 x 512MB memory modules on my A8N-SLI. I'd like to upgrade to 2GB, since F.E.A.R. is struggling with 1GB. 4 X 512MB modules is cheaper than 2 X 1GB modules, but I'm worried that this will reduce performance.

Does populating all the slots with DIMMs have any performance problems? I remember reading this but can't find it now -- not sure exactly what search terms to use so googling and searching on this forum hasn't helped much.

See sigs for spec. I'm planning on getting Crucial Ballistix since I like Crucial and they actually have customer service that works -- quite unusual for a company in the UK.

Roliath
11-30-05, 04:01 PM
Well you'd have to go down to 2T command rate, and "MAYBE" go down on ram speed (ddr400 --> ddr333).

I have some Crucial Ballistix for sale if your interested.

chowells
11-30-05, 05:17 PM
Great thank you. Googling for "venice 2t" has given me some interesting reading.

Regarding the sale, thanks for the offer but when you add in international shipping + tax when it's imported it's a lot of hassle.

m3touk_85
12-01-05, 06:13 PM
as i know that the problems come with winchester core and amd notice that then make venice core to solve this problem ( ddr400---ddr333)

if it make problem tell me

superklye
12-01-05, 06:56 PM
Yeah, Venice cores fixed the memory controller issues. I believe you still get stuck with 2T, but it stays at DDR400.

ViN86
12-01-05, 07:49 PM
is this fixed with the manchester or toledo cores?