PDA

View Full Version : ASUS's 7800GTX 512MB problems


Pika
12-01-05, 10:59 PM
Hi everyone, I'm a new user here.
Can I just ask you guys for some help?

I bought ASUS's 7800GTX 512MB and it just reached me yesterday. The card looks great. I simply got everything setup and tested it for a while. Some funny things I noticed.

1. In Age of Empire 3, I cannot set both Shadow and Shader to Very High.
(I could not achieve the same previously with my 7800GTX 256MB so I thought this 512MB could give me hope this time but unfortunately not).
Everything would become jerky and slow. But if I lower either one to High everything went smoothly again. However, if I put antialiasing to either Low/High my whole screen distorted.

2. The bundled game King Kong doesn't seem to run smoothly with my card. I maxed out everything in the game but found it jerky.

3. My 3D marks 05 for this card is lower than what i expected - 9500 provided that I have OCed my CPU and RAM.

Has anyone experienced the same problem as mine?
Thanks for your help.

My current config. is:
ASUS's A8NSLI-P
AMD x2 3800+ OC to 2.4G (failed 3dmarks 05 if I OC to 2.5G)
Corsairs 3200XLPRO 1G DDR480 2.5-3-3-5 (again failed 3dmarks if i OC to DDR500 @2.5-3-3-5)
ASUS's 7800GTX 512MB
NeoPower 480W
ACD 30" @2560x1600
WD raptors 74G x2 on raid 0

PeterJensen
12-02-05, 12:25 AM
your 3dmark05 score seems fine to me :)

jAkUp
12-02-05, 02:50 AM
Yea, yoru 3DMark05 score is fine :)

Pika
12-02-05, 03:22 AM
Yea, yoru 3DMark05 score is fine :)

My 3dmarks score is fine? really? without overclocking i got only 9000.
with overclocking i expected it to break 10k but it turned out to be 95xx...
a bit disappointing to me.

PSYCHODAD
12-02-05, 03:33 AM
My 3dmarks score is fine? really? without overclocking i got only 9000.
with overclocking i expected it to break 10k but it turned out to be 95xx...
a bit disappointing to me.
A tad low perhaps.

I get around 9400 3D Marks with stock settings. This is using high performance with no aa or af.

Edit: oops, forgot my BFG card is already OC'd.

PeterJensen
12-02-05, 03:33 AM
My 3dmarks score is fine? really? without overclocking i got only 9000.
with overclocking i expected it to break 10k but it turned out to be 95xx...
a bit disappointing to me.


......jesus leave that 3dmark score alone (santa2) Go play Quake4 or FEAR :)

macatak
12-02-05, 03:34 AM
What's the default clock speeds for the Asus card ?

Pika
12-02-05, 03:50 AM
What's the default clock speeds for the Asus card ?

the default speed is 550/1700.
i should run it again with no over-clocking and see how far 3dmarks could get.

the other thing is, what's the maximium resolution for Fear? Does anyone know how to set it at 2560x1600? the max resolution i can set is only 1024x768 with my current system. does anyone know why?

many thanks!

macatak
12-02-05, 04:32 AM
With an AMD 4000+ your score would be about 9400, with an AMD 4800+ X2 (http://techreport.com/reviews/2005q4/geforce-7800gtx-512/index.x?pg=9) about 9600.
To change resolutions for FEAR just go to Start/All Programs/Sierra/FEAR/Shortcut to User Directory...and edit the "settings.cfg" file with whatever height and width you want

deimos47ca
12-02-05, 09:00 AM
About the 3DMark2005 score... although the benchmark is very reliant on fast video card, with the new uber super-fast ones, they expose more of the cpu-limited-ness. If you had a FX-57 and best possible motherboard and RAM and all other system settings, then maybe you would hit 9500-9600 like some review sites.

Its weird that you are having problems with King Kong, etc... first ofcourse make sure that you have all the right BIOS settings, and you're not choking the system with like anti-virus or IM in the background. It also helps to make sure you didn't forget to disable 8xAA or whatever uber high settings in the drivers you played with when you first took the card out on its first day.

And ofcourse - game patch anyone? (Remember before retail+ 1.01 FEAR performance was like half.. kinda made all those beta/mp benchmarks useless)

Knacki99
12-02-05, 10:01 AM
I have no idea about AOE3 - there is a patch out afaik - you should try that.

King Kong is just badly coded - seems to be a Xbox port than stand alone developed for PC - see the game reviews for that!

3DMark score seems fine to me.

Wish my Asus card would arrive. Its still not available in Germany.

Riptide
12-02-05, 10:04 AM
At default clocks all around I get 9500 3dmarks with the system in sig. Your score is not far from where it should be at IMO. Maybe just a tad low but nothing worth obsessing over.

Pika
12-02-05, 10:42 AM
Thanks very much to all you guys!
Your comments are highly appreciated.

It was just that I expected my 3dmarks would hit over 10k that's why i was a little bit disappointed. nevertheless, this card is so amazing and performing very well at high resolution.

Can i ask you guys for one more question here?

I just bought Need for Speed: most wanted. The max. resolution setting in the game was only up to 1024x768. Does anyone know how to increase the resolution up to 2560x1600? I could run the previous Need for Speed Underground 2 at 2560x1600. does anyone know the trick?

Has anyone ever tried overclocking this ASUS 7800GTX 512? I noticed many of you guys could get 3dmarks over 10k. I know that I should not care to much of 3dmarks but sometimes it's so tempting to get its score as far as I could. probably to assure myself that this card is more well spent and worthwhile. that's all.

Thanks again to everyone!

Riptide
12-02-05, 10:44 AM
Most people hitting 10K+ have overclocked their cards to 600/1800 and are at 2.5GHz or higher on their processor.

Gorion
12-02-05, 10:51 AM
Yes, I hit just over 10k but my card is as riptide stated 600/1800. But my proc at 2.4 ;)

Pika
12-02-05, 10:55 AM
I have no idea about AOE3 - there is a patch out afaik - you should try that.

King Kong is just badly coded - seems to be a Xbox port than stand alone developed for PC - see the game reviews for that!

3DMark score seems fine to me.

Wish my Asus card would arrive. Its still not available in Germany.

Thanks!
Actually this ASUS 7800GTX 512 is not available in Hong Kong either. I just bought it from the UK. But the price is really a rip-off to me. I thought I could claim VAT deduction but they told me that VAT deduction could only be claim in high street retail stores. It only applies to face to face transaction.

Sometimes I just don't understand why this card is only available in the UK but not the US. I checked out many e-tailers in the US but none of this ASUS card available.

Pika
12-02-05, 10:56 AM
Yes, I hit just over 10k but my card is as riptide stated 600/1800. But my proc at 2.4 ;)

Can i also OC my card to your setting?
does it cause any damage?

Gorion
12-02-05, 02:53 PM
Can i also OC my card to your setting?
does it cause any damage?

Don't know what your particular card can handle. But I have no artifacts and temps stay relatively cool on mine. I'm thinking about taking the heatsink off to get those themal pads replaced with some as5. I did that with my 6800U and temps came down significantly.