PDA

View Full Version : No component out option for output to HDTV!


Zagreus
12-07-05, 01:16 AM
Alright, I have a PNY Geforce 6600 PCI Express videocard which came with a HDTV breakout box. I'm about to get an HDTV and I want to be able to use it with my PC. However, when I force TV detection, it doesn't even show the option to use Component Out. Simply WTF? Currently I am using Forceware 81.95, and my video BIOS version is 5.43.02.69.51 for the card. Another note if it factors in at all is that this is an Athlon 64 X2 3800+ system. Any and all assistance in getting this to work will be greatly appreciated.

Oh, I should also say that the HDTV in question is the Sony KV-30HS420 and does NOT have a DVI port.

gram_vaz
12-07-05, 03:48 AM
hehe, i have the same hdtv. it's a beauty.

i use this dvi to hdmi cable (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0009ST7I4/002-7129865-0541646?%5Fencoding=UTF8&v=glance&n=172282) to connect video to my hdtv. and i use this cable (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0001GAOFO/002-7129865-0541646?%5Fencoding=UTF8&v=glance&n=172282) to connect audio from my pc to the hdtv.

Zagreus
12-07-05, 04:34 AM
The idea of spending anymore money and risking fscking up my TV is not appealing which is why I want this working.

gram_vaz
12-07-05, 08:04 AM
there's no risk. i use it without problem. the cable is only $20. hdmi and dvi are actually the same thing. the difference is that the hdmi port was made smaller and hdmi can also carry audio. here (http://66.102.7.104/search?q=cache:vWq2m-fFO9YJ:forum.ecoustics.com/bbs/messages/34579/122868.html+hdmi+dvi&hl=en&client=firefox-a) is an article on it. if you need further peace of mind inquire at the avs forum. they know their stuff. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/index.php?


oh, and not that i'm trying to sidestep your original question but if the nvidia driver panel doesn't give you tv-out options there's no way to force it.

Jimi
12-07-05, 10:00 AM
there's no risk. i use it without problem. the cable is only $20. hdmi and dvi are actually the same thing. the difference is that the hdmi port was made smaller and hdmi can also carry audio. here (http://66.102.7.104/search?q=cache:vWq2m-fFO9YJ:forum.ecoustics.com/bbs/messages/34579/122868.html+hdmi+dvi&hl=en&client=firefox-a) is an article on it. if you need further peace of mind inquire at the avs forum. they know their stuff. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/index.php?


oh, and not that i'm trying to sidestep your original question but if the nvidia driver panel doesn't give you tv-out options there's no way to force it.

Agreed! I use my Dell XPS laptop to connect to an HDMI HDTV using a DVI to HDMI adapter to watch DVDs and it works great! The only thing is as you said the audio must come out over the analog port which isn't that bad.

Boogalo
12-07-05, 02:59 PM
i have the 32 inch version of that tv with an hdmi>dvi cable and coax out to my home theater. works great

Zagreus
12-08-05, 10:53 AM
STOP SIDESTEPPING!

I got the component cable and hooked it up. It doesn't give a component cable option PLUS it also gives off a weirdass blue hue to the colors when it's hooked up to the TV. I need help getting this fixed and I WILL NOT get a DVI to HDMI converter so please stop talking about it!

Superfly
12-08-05, 11:17 AM
no one here can or will help you with that attitude after only 3 posts!! both Jimi and gram have answered your question as best they can.

Jimi
12-08-05, 11:32 AM
STOP SIDESTEPPING!

I got the component cable and hooked it up. It doesn't give a component cable option PLUS it also gives off a weirdass blue hue to the colors when it's hooked up to the TV. I need help getting this fixed and I WILL NOT get a DVI to HDMI converter so please stop talking about it!

Hi

If you have the wireless blue bue it sounds like you have switched the TV settings control panel into component mode. The display output defaults to S-Video over the Pb connection and so if just get TV with a blue hue. So if you do have the option from the NVIDIA TV Settings page, change the connector type to component.

If you don't have that option, then that's the bug I have logged with NVIDIA.

sfhub
12-18-05, 02:32 PM
HDTV component out using the breakout card is broken in 81.xx drivers. The only options you have available are composite, svideo, and SCART. Component is missing.

Switch to 78.05 or 77.xx and it will work fine.