PDA

View Full Version : fixed aspect ratio scaling bugs...


maha_x
12-09-05, 01:21 PM
Here's my problem; my LCD is 1600x1200 native and I had this idea of playing games at 720p res (my rig's no longer up to 1600x1200 and the idea of X360 res was interesting ;) ). Anyhow, I can work it by selecting monitor scaling and choosing the 16:9 mode from my display. But I get this mediocre quality scaling, this is old news.

So, when I go for "fixed aspect ratio scaling" I get two versions: Either the picture is in the right place but it's sort of shifted upwards and the empty space is filled with noise. Or the picture is right at the top of the screen (no black bar) and after the 720 lines I can see my desktop.

Curiously the 1600x900 res works just fine. And I've observed this atleast for the last three drv versions. I tried to capture it with fraps but the capture appeared correct.

maha_x
12-10-05, 08:34 AM
Did a capture with camera (crappy one):

http://www.johdin.net/temp/IMG_0057.jpg

However, I just switched to the x64 eval to toy around and was unable to reproduce this on DX9 (F.E.A.R). So the problem was in regular XP with FEAR and COD2 (what I tested) but on x64 it disappeared.

OpenGL produces the same problem on both versions of windows, as seen in the above picture.

edit

oh, and the tag "show standard HDTV formats" didn't work in the x64 driver (XP worked ok tough).

maha_x
12-10-05, 08:56 AM
After taking that pic it started to work for no apparent reason!

I did toy with the driver tough... FEAR kept reseting back to 640x480 and I realized that I had to have the resolution registered with the driver. In XP I used the "show standard HDTV formats" tag but it didn't work with the x64 driver and I was forced to add the 1280x720 manually and voila, everything started to work...

Well, I'm not switching back to XP just to test if the "show standard HDTV formats" tag is the problem...

Superfly
12-10-05, 11:14 AM
So where does the bug lie?? - I'd log if I could re-produce it.

Wolken007
12-10-05, 06:16 PM
This sounds like the exact same bug that I am having, with not being able to properly select monitor scaling. The last version that worked for me was 81.84. I hope that they fix this in the next release, it would be nice.

maha_x
12-11-05, 02:40 AM
I guess I'd have to get back on XP to test it...

On x64 it works as soon as I add the resolution 1280x720, which makes sence. "show standard HDTV formats" tag didn't work.

On XP it doesn't work if using the "show standard HDTV formats", the resolutions appear to the res list but the above problem occurs. I'd have to test adding the 1280x720 manually.

Mayby I'll do a fresh XP install...

Superfly
12-11-05, 04:25 AM
let me know if and when you can, thx.

maha_x
12-11-05, 06:10 AM
Ok, with a fresh XP...

The "show standard HDTV formats" tag doesn't add the 1280x720 resolution to the resolutions list. Is it supposed to do that?

As long as the 1280x720 is not in the resolutions list, the aspect ratio scaling will fail. So after manually adding it, all is good.

So I guess there no problem at all... Except mayby the "show standard HDTV formats" tag but I'm nolonger sure what it's supposed to do. I seem to remember that it did add the 1280x720 resolution at some point...

edit

couldn't the fixed aspect work with unregistered resolutions just as well? Could save headache...

Airbrushkid
12-11-05, 07:12 AM
Not to jump. But thats why I love my 21" CRT.

maha_x
12-11-05, 09:06 AM
Not to jump. But thats why I love my 21" CRT.

My LCD is 4:3 as well, I just prefer to game 16:9 (with black bars) cos I get pixel density of 1280x960 and pixel load of 1024x768 (roughly).