PDA

View Full Version : Classic Doom 3 V1.0 Released


Pages : [1] 2

OWA
12-10-05, 07:53 PM
From Gamer's Hell.

Classic Doom has been released. See link below.

http://www.gamershell.com/download_11832.shtml

Flaming Sheep Software has released version 1.0 of their Classic Doom 3 mod for Doom 3. Version 1.0 is the "final" release, although the developers have stated that version 1.1 will be released eventually with no bugs and support for Linux and Mac. In Classic Doom 3 players can re-live Doom 1 with the Doom 3 engine. The music has been digitally remastered for high quality audio and a co-op mod is already underway. All the maps can also be used for Deathmatch multiplayer already. The mod is now available in our download archives.

http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/1720/196909full1gw.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Q
12-10-05, 07:57 PM
You know, I was really hyped about this when it was first announced. Since then I have gone on to sell Doom 3.

Figures.

OWA
12-10-05, 08:23 PM
Here are a few screenshots from the very beginning.

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/220/doom312xr.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/2483/doom326ba.th.jpg (http://img233.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom326ba.jpg) http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/5917/doom334rn.th.jpg (http://img233.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom334rn.jpg) http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/9395/doom341rf.th.jpg (http://img233.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom341rf.jpg) http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/2152/doom350yl.th.jpg (http://img233.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom350yl.jpg) http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/3440/doom360ao.th.jpg (http://img233.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom360ao.jpg)

OWA
12-10-05, 09:03 PM
It's faster paced than Doom 3. I didn't really play Doom all that much so I don't know what is normal but the main guy moves really fast. Anyway, here are some more screencaps. I really like the look. Almost looks like they're using tertsi's mod.

Edit: Heh, what an idiot. No wonder it looks like tertsi's mod, I am using it. :o So, bear in mind that my screenshots are shinier than what it looks like normally since I had the specular cranked.


http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/6925/doom311gm.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom311gm.jpg) http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/6104/doom322wl.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom322wl.jpg) http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/8878/doom337tp.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom337tp.jpg) http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/3392/doom348ea.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom348ea.jpg)

http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/9142/doom352gp.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom352gp.jpg) http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/9702/doom365jb.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom365jb.jpg) http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/5696/doom374um.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom374um.jpg) http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/7162/doom381pi.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom381pi.jpg)

http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/7994/doom396nj.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom396nj.jpg) http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/274/doom3107ww.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom3107ww.jpg) http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/7624/doom3115to.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom3115to.jpg) http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/4795/doom3126mq.th.jpg (http://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom3126mq.jpg)

OWA
12-10-05, 10:42 PM
OKay, some screenshots without the mod enabled so not as shiny.

http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/4249/doom312do.th.jpg (http://img226.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom312do.jpg) http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/3543/doom327ek.th.jpg (http://img226.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom327ek.jpg) http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/7429/doom333lo.th.jpg (http://img226.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom333lo.jpg) http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/8181/doom345gb.th.jpg (http://img226.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom345gb.jpg)

http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/1331/doom350bz.th.jpg (http://img226.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom350bz.jpg) http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/2720/doom361ca.th.jpg (http://img226.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom361ca.jpg) http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/5838/doom376bq.th.jpg (http://img226.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom376bq.jpg) http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/3027/doom381jz.th.jpg (http://img226.imageshack.us/my.php?image=doom381jz.jpg)

Gentle
12-11-05, 02:22 AM
The chaingun is *WAY* too loud.

If you change the music volume, the next map load, it's back up at full volume.

Anyone else notice this?

Gentle

Darkoz
12-11-05, 04:38 AM
The chaingun is *WAY* too loud.

If you change the music volume, the next map load, it's back up at full volume.

Anyone else notice this?

Gentle

Yes, the music volume control doesn't seem to be working at all, it's way too loud and you can't turn it down.

Superfly
12-11-05, 04:45 AM
disable it

Darkoz
12-11-05, 05:05 AM
disable it

How?....I would if I could, but I can't turn it down or disable it.

saturnotaku
12-11-05, 02:21 PM
I can also confirm the volume control not working at all. Perhaps we could go to their forum and report it?

Also, is there a way to create a shortcut on your desktop to launch this mod directly? I hate having to load Doom 3 first, then the mod.

jAkUp
12-11-05, 02:25 PM
Wow sweet! Looks like old school doom :D

TierMann
12-11-05, 02:44 PM
I was playing around with this a few months ago before 1.0. It's an awesome mod :)

DoomUK
12-11-05, 04:18 PM
Played the v0.25 Alpha a few months ago, great job done, downloading this as we speak.

Although I must say I'm looking forward far more to the next release of Q2: Lost Marine (now ported to Quake 4), and Hexen: Edge Of Chaos to name but two.

http://www.planetquake.com/meanarena/quake2_lostmarine/
http://edgeofchaos.planetdoom.gamespy.com/index.htm

Superfly
12-11-05, 05:17 PM
How?....I would if I could, but I can't turn it down or disable it.

cant you just kill it in the .cfg file, then make it read only so the game cant reset it.........

saturnotaku
12-11-05, 07:01 PM
cant you just kill it in the .cfg file, then make it read only so the game cant reset it.........

Tried that. Music still plays.

Superfly
12-11-05, 07:47 PM
oh dear - can you locate the audio file/s...?

OWA
12-11-05, 08:26 PM
Also, is there a way to create a shortcut on your desktop to launch this mod directly? I hate having to load Doom 3 first, then the mod.

"D:\Games\Doom 3\DOOM3.exe" +set fs_game cdoom

The above is the shortcut I use to start it directly. They provide an icon for it in the cdoom directory also.

Edit: I tried using the music volume setting but it didn't seem to have any effect.

seta s_music_vol "0"

saturnotaku
12-11-05, 09:04 PM
"D:\Games\Doom 3\DOOM3.exe" +set fs_game cdoom

The above is the shortcut I use to start it directly. They provide an icon for it in the cdoom directory also.

Edit: I tried using the music volume setting but it didn't seem to have any effect.

seta s_music_vol "0"

Thanks, that'll be really helpful. I also did the exact same thing with that command in the .cfg file. No dice. I may delete the music out of the .pk4 file, but those songs really are kinda catchy. I just hate that they're so loud.

http://cdoom.d3files.com/forums/index.php? - that's the link to their forums. I really think we need to get a couple more people to register and post over there so they know I'm not the only one having this problem.

OWA
12-11-05, 09:28 PM
I added a post saying the same thing. Hopefully they can fix that.

ynnek
12-15-05, 06:45 PM
tell me when co-op is working!

uOpt
12-16-05, 05:35 AM
/me wants.

What's the word on a Linux version?

Darkoz
12-17-05, 12:50 AM
/me wants.

What's the word on a Linux version?


"*UPDATED*
The 1.0 release can be run under linux/mac without the custom code. The following features will not function as intended without this code, however:
-Health Vials and Armor Bonuses will bump health/armor to 100, not to 200
-Deathmatch is unsupported
-The music slider and corresponding cvar (s_music_vol) will not work
-The autorun cvar (ui_autoRun) will not work
To run this mod under Linux/Mac, simply unpack the zip into your Doom 3 directory and load the mod through Doom 3's mod menu."

http://cdoom.d3files.com/

911medic
12-28-05, 06:51 PM
This mod is really fun. Brings back some great memories of DOOM. I haven't played it in YEARS, but I recognize these maps like I played it last week.

Also: from the "frequently reported bugs" thread over there: "Music volume slider doesn't work"
1) The menu music is not affected by the music volume slider.
2) There is a bug that resets the volume of the music at level change.
3) On some peoples' computers the volume slider simply isn't working.
This will be fixed in the next patch.

OWA
12-29-05, 05:38 PM
Yay! Thanks for the update.

Was the frequently reported bugs thread new or old? I hope it came after we reported the issue so I don't feel as stupid (xmastong), although they'd probably expect that sort of thing from new members anyway.

911medic
12-29-05, 10:35 PM
The post I referenced (http://cdoom.d3files.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1449) was dated Dec. 13th, 2005.