PDA

View Full Version : 7800 512 Higher Clocks

anticitizenzero
12-12-05, 01:47 AM
Ok, i'm not an expert on video cards so they may kinda sound like a n00b question. If I were to put say a 512 7800's cooler on a 7800 GT or GTX how come I can't overclock it to those same speeds if it has the upgraded cooling, what exactly is causing artifacts other than heat??

AthlonXP1800
12-12-05, 01:57 AM
The reason 7800 512 has higher clocks because the core is based on new revision A2 2005 Week 39, the GTX 256 is based on older revision A2 2005 Week 17.

phide
12-12-05, 01:57 AM
G70 Ultra/G70U (GTX 512) is a revised chip, not just a G70 (GTX 256).

G71 (7900?) may not clock as high as R580 (X1900 XT) simply because they're differently designed chips even though the manufacturing process (90nm) is the same.

Get all that?

technoid
12-12-05, 07:02 AM
From what I understand nvidia didn't modify the gtx chip to get higher clocks they worked with tsmc to tweak the fab process to produce better quality dies. The thing with chip making is they're "all" different, each batch of chips is slightly different than the others so each batch will run at varying clock speeds. So when you get the fab process working it's best you get the highest quality chips and they will run faster. Then after they're cut and tested you "bin" them, which means test each chip to see how fast it will run. That's how nvidia was suppose to have gotten the chips for the 512, by tweaking the fab process for higher quality and binning the chips as they come off the line.

Scott@Bjorn3D
12-12-05, 07:32 AM
My understanding is NVIDIA has done speed binning for a long time. It started back with TNT's but really started being used more with the TI 4 series and the 6800 series. Speed binning is the way to go in my mind, aim for high speed chip and those that do not make it become lower end models.