PDA

View Full Version : FEAR Issues


Elfear
12-16-05, 04:55 PM
I'm trying to get the modified FEAR profile to work. I've read through the other post by SH64 and I've followed the instructions to a "t" but for some reason, everytime I try to apply the new profile in the Nvidia CP it ends up adding an sli_aa command for the profile along with the new profile line. I know I'm not selecting the SLI AA option in the drop-down box (I set that to Auto). I've verified that it's using AFR but I want to make sure everything is working correctly. Any ideas?

OWA
12-16-05, 05:01 PM
Set global SLI value to auto.

In the FEAR profile, set the value that SH64 recommends and make it read only (add the predefined tag).

In the Nvidia CP, leave the selection on global. Start FEAR, alt-tab out of the game, bring up the nvidia CP, select the FEAR profile and click apply. Return to the game and see if it accepts it. I had to do that initially but after doing it that one time didn't have to do it anymore. When I upgraded drivers, I had to go through that again.

Elfear
12-16-05, 05:27 PM
Sweet! Thanks OWA, I'll give that try tonight. Does SH64's profile just enable AFR rendering or does it have some other tweaks as well?

OWA
12-16-05, 05:29 PM
I think it's using AFR with some compatability bits. Maybe AFR2, I don't remember at the moment. The current drivers (81.95) include a built-in profile for FEAR that is similar to his setting. I'm not sure which one is better though.

SH64
12-16-05, 05:31 PM
That sli_aa command gets added for any modified SLI profile .. its normal so dont mind it.
however the new driver versions (81.85+ IIRC) already include AFR2 profile for FEAR just like the one i made but a little different .. this time its from nVIDIA's driver team. i suggest you stick with it because it results in a much similar performance & stability of the profile i made before.

lewis_johnstone
12-16-05, 06:25 PM
Just outta curiosity, wot sorta settings are u guys running this game in?

U all seem to have pretty beastly pc's

I'm currently running in 1280x1024, x2 aa @ high settings [soft shadows off]

Seems to be handling it pretty well, but i feel i need x4 aa [image quality isnt quite up there]

Also, have u set driver quality to 'high' and done the clamp thing?

OWA
12-16-05, 06:38 PM
1920x1200 2xAA/16xAF HQ GAA:On, TAA:SS.

SH64
12-16-05, 06:42 PM
Getting decent gameplay @1600x1200,2xAA,8xAF High Quality ,SS : off.
TBH anisotropic filtering dosent do much in this game as its mostly dark & consist of small/avarage in-door areas.
i dont need to clamp my LOD bias as i'm running HQ.

Elfear
12-17-05, 08:54 AM
1920x1200 2xAA/16xAF HQ GAA:On, TAA:SS.

Good heck OWA. I dream about using those settings. Your extra pipes and extra memory bandwidth must be treating you nice. Would you mind posting what you get in the performance test with the above settings and if it's not too much trouble, what you get at 1600x1200 4AA/8AF everything max and SS off. Thanks.


I also erased the profile I was trying to use and checked the default driver setting. You guys were right, the built in one has the same value as SH64's. Are there any SLI game profiles out right now worth messing with or do the default 81.95 profiles do a fine job?


Update: That SLI profile is amazing. Just for fun I decided to run through the performance test at 1920x1200 2AA/8AF everything max and SS off. I expected choppy gameplay but either the new profile is doing a great job or the hit from 2AA to 4AA is huge. I get the following at the above settings:

CPU@2.8GHz cards@stock

Min:23
Avg:50
Max:183

3% below 25
7% between 25 and 40
90% above 40


CPU@2.8GHz cards@550/1300

Min: 48
Avg: 65
Max: 208


AT 1600x1200 4AA/8AF everything max and SS off (cpu@3.0GHz and cards@550/1300) I was getting:

Min:26
Avg: 49
Max: 212

0% below 25
3% between 25 and 40
97% above 40

SH64
12-17-05, 12:33 PM
Yeah the performance hit from 2xAA to 4x is huge. thats why i play @1600x1200,2xAA.

OWA
12-17-05, 12:56 PM
Good heck OWA. I dream about using those settings. Your extra pipes and extra memory bandwidth must be treating you nice. Would you mind posting what you get in the performance test with the above settings and if it's not too much trouble, what you get at 1600x1200 4AA/8AF everything max and SS off. Thanks.

4x causes a big hit, that's part of the reason I use 2xAA. Here are the 2xAA results:

1920x1200 2xAA/16xAF HQ GAA:On TAA:SS
46/72/223 (0%/0%/100%)

I'll run the 16x12 4x setting next.

1600x1200 4xAA/8xAF HQ GAA:On TAA: SS
27/57/195 (0%/2%/98%)

1600x1200 4xAA/8xAF HQ GAA:Off TAA:Off
30/57/215 (0%/2%/98%)

1600x1200 4xAA/8xAF Q GAA:Off TAA:Off
47/61/194 (0%/0%/100%)

Elfear
12-17-05, 04:04 PM
4x causes a big hit, that's part of the reason I use 2xAA. Here are the 2xAA results:

1920x1200 2xAA/16xAF HQ GAA:On TAA:SS
46/72/223 (0%/0%/100%)

I'll run the 16x12 4x setting next.

1600x1200 4xAA/8xAF HQ GAA:On TAA: SS
27/57/195 (0%/2%/98%)

1600x1200 4xAA/8xAF HQ GAA:Off TAA:Off
30/57/215 (0%/2%/98%)

1600x1200 4xAA/8xAF Q GAA:Off TAA:Off
47/61/194 (0%/0%/100%)


Very nice results. Seems odd that your minimum frames almost double when you disable GAA and TAA and switch to Quality but your average frames are about the same. Do you notice a big difference with GAA, TAA, and HQ enabled?

OWA
12-17-05, 04:23 PM
Very nice results. Seems odd that your minimum frames almost double when you disable GAA and TAA and switch to Quality but your average frames are about the same. Do you notice a big difference with GAA, TAA, and HQ enabled?
Yeah, I noticed that also. Sometimes the benchmark doesn't make sense to me so I'm not sure if it's messed up or what. Maybe I should average 3 runs of the benchmark to see if that gets rid of any spikes that might occur.

I haven't really tried playing in Quality with GAA/TAA off but watching the benchmark run, it didn't look all that different. That's part of the reason I was surprised with the result (the min being much higher).

lewis_johnstone
12-17-05, 04:29 PM
whats GAA/TAA?

OWA
12-17-05, 04:41 PM
Very nice results. Seems odd that your minimum frames almost double when you disable GAA and TAA and switch to Quality but your average frames are about the same. Do you notice a big difference with GAA, TAA, and HQ enabled?
I played around with it in the first scene and couldn't really tell a difference performance-wise. I didn't run fraps so I wouldn't be influenced by the framerate display and they seemed pretty much the same. That is, it doesn't feel like it's a much higher min fps but of couse, maybe that particular scene doesn't cause a big difference whereas some other scene it might be more noticeable.

I ran it 3 more times and got these results:

16x12 4xAA/8xAF Q GAA: off TAA: off
44/61/198 (0/0/100)
42/62/185 (0/0/100)
43/61/204 (0/0/100)



whats GAA/TAA?
GAA is the Gamma correct AA.
TAA is the transparency AA and TAA:SS is transparency AA Super Sampling.

Monnie Rock
12-17-05, 08:18 PM
Here are my settings with TAA:SS & GAA
16x AF 2x AA
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y125/MonnieRock/FEAR_2.jpg

Elfear
12-17-05, 09:22 PM
Here are my settings with TAA:SS & GAA
16x AF 2x AA
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y125/MonnieRock/FEAR_2.jpg

Very nice Monnie Rock. Would you mind running the benchmark with the same settings only at 1920x1200 and 1600x1200?

Monnie Rock
12-17-05, 11:01 PM
When I get time from work, I sure will. I am not impressed though with the built in fear benchmark being consistent. I get different results everytime I run it :confused:

OWA
12-17-05, 11:43 PM
Here are my settings with TAA:SS & GAA
16x AF 2x AA

Show off...with your 2048x1536 resolution. (xmasmile)

Monnie Rock
12-17-05, 11:59 PM
Ummm I can only focus on the ummm shirt of your avatar

Roch
12-21-05, 08:23 AM
I get great scores for the benchmark but pretty horrible performance in game. I've actually gone down to the res above 10x7, with no aa. It felt really laggy at anything higher. What sound settings do you have ticked? I've got all the hardware ones ticked, wondering if that'll make a difference.