PDA

View Full Version : Does CORSAIR ValueSelect PC3200 have OCing headroom?


sillyeagle
12-17-05, 12:37 AM
How high might it go? I'm looking for the best bang for the buck RAM with limited OCing headroom as I will probably run it from 166 mode and OC from there.

Gigaram is at the same price with a 2.5 latency and a heat spreader if that makes any difference.

john19055
12-17-05, 10:43 AM
What are you going to use it on ,the XP2400 ,the Corsair PC3200 value select shoud be fine and if you are useing a nforce 2 motherboard then it works best when running it in sync with dual channel.I was just thinking about my old setup with a XP2400 the multipler was unlocked and I ran it at 11x200 from day one .but it just depends some will overclock great and others are just okay.

superklye
12-17-05, 01:16 PM
I've got mine running at 2.8v at 208MHz with no problem. Not a colossal OC by any means, but I've heard of this stuff getting to 230 no problem.

sillyeagle
12-17-05, 03:34 PM
What are you going to use it on ,the XP2400 ,the Corsair PC3200 value select shoud be fine and if you are useing a nforce 2 motherboard then it works best when running it in sync with dual channel.I was just thinking about my old setup with a XP2400 the multipler was unlocked and I ran it at 11x200 from day one .but it just depends some will overclock great and others are just okay.

It would be for the new system I'm planning. AN8-SLI with 3700+(San Diego)

SH0DAN
12-20-05, 12:55 AM
Yes it does have a little headroom,but not allot mind you....the stuff I have will run dual channel at upto 217 2.5-3-3-7.

KickAssCop
12-20-05, 03:34 AM
It does 220 or DDR 440 for me w/ 2.5 3 3 8 (default timings).

AthlonXP1800
12-20-05, 06:22 AM
Like my Corsiar Value Select memory, varzmaster (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=67762) no 165 at Xtremesystems forum have 2x 1GB VS CL3 memory overclocked by 260MHz, that very good overclocking at very low price. :)