PDA

View Full Version : Decent Budget Rig? Thoughts?


KickAssCop
12-17-05, 10:57 AM
*My Rig*

A64 3500+ Clawhammer 512 k cache *I know but I got in on a deal* -- Bought it used

MSI K8N Neo4 nforce 4 motherboard *I know this too but I got in on a deal* -- Bought it used

Kingston 1 GB *For now, will replace w/ Corsair 2 GB next month* -- I already had the ram

BFG 7800GTX OC 256MB *for 350 bucks, it was a steal IMO* -- New

Seagate 80 GB SATA *Good old HDD, next upgrade would be some 200 loving* -- 2 years old

Liteon 16X DVD-R *Yes a good product and finally I can burn some stuff :bleh:* -- New

Logitech MX518 *Need I say more, it does excellent* -- New

Compaq V1100 21" *Good old CRT, very nice 1600*1200 @ 85Hz is all I need* -- 3 years old

Aspire 520W PSU *Excellent and cheap for what it does* -- New

I have yet to install windows and get it up. When it does will post benches, overclocks and other ****. For now, any thoughts? Its not the best, but I think on a budget its fine.

KickAssCop
12-17-05, 10:57 AM
Well some prilimenary results. Nothing fancy. :nag:

A64 3500+ is doing 2.6 GHz stable for 1.5 hours now and Kingston value ram is at 196 w/ 3 3 3 8 timings. HT dropped from 5X to 4X. BFG 7800GTX OC, overclocked to 490/1.35 stable. Still more tests to run. Have not run prime or any game yet. But all seems well thus far. Look a screenshot

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v381/KACDoom3Pics/A642.jpg

mullet
12-17-05, 11:05 AM
U got a winner man, looks good.

KickAssCop
12-17-05, 12:15 PM
Wow, just had a bout of NFS MW at 1600*1200 w/ 4xAA Highest AF and it was silky smooth. I am back in heaven again. Plus, IQ is loads better than my 6800GT. Compared to the 7800GTX that was a fuzzy piece of sh!t. :nuts:

Frickin' A!

OWA
12-17-05, 01:11 PM
Congrats! Lookin' good. (cheers)

KickAssCop
12-17-05, 02:57 PM
Minor update. Ran 03 for the first time.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v381/KACDoom3Pics/9c149559.jpg

KickAssCop
01-03-06, 10:55 AM
Minor tweaks. Pretty much stuck at 2.6 Ghz and this processor doesn't move a muscle above it :(. Damn.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v381/KACDoom3Pics/4937dadb.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v381/KACDoom3Pics/d7e22506.jpg

Any bright ideas? I am doing A64 3500+ @ 2.6 w/ 236 FSB, 4x HTT, 11x CPU Multi, DDR 400 @ 392 (166) 2.5 3 3 7 1T, CPU @ 1.55 Volts.

I tried 10x * 260 and it booted fine but would kick me out in NFS. Ram was at DDR 432 with that spec :(.

nV`andrew
01-03-06, 11:04 AM
I ran 3dMark05 just now on my new setup(7800GT, X2 3800+, 2GB Corsair DDR400) and scored 8,200 (cheers)

KickAssCop
01-03-06, 11:11 AM
I ran 3dMark05 just now on my new setup(7800GT, X2 3800+, 2GB Corsair DDR400) and scored 8,200 (cheers)
Stock?

j0j081
01-04-06, 08:46 AM
pretty good for a "budget" rig lol.

rflair
01-04-06, 09:13 AM
Post a 12+ hour Prime95 run yet?

PaiN
01-04-06, 10:06 AM
Not too shabby for a "budget" rig ;) ......looks great, nice planned upgrades too.

CaptNKILL
01-04-06, 10:38 AM
Heh... budget rig... :p

KickAssCop
01-04-06, 11:24 AM
Post a 12+ hour Prime95 run yet?
I actually do not run prime95 and other such tests. I made this rig for gaming and that is all I do on it. If it counts for anything, I played for over 18 hours on this rig (w/o any issues) which included close to 8 hours actual gaming time, 1 hour anti virus time, 3 hours browsing internet, and some 6 hours running 3dmarks. It did artifact in 3dmark after hour number 2 because my 7800GTX was not handling 490/1.35 for that long so I backed it down to 490/1.3. I could care less about prime 95 or any other bench. :).

nV`andrew
01-04-06, 12:01 PM
Stock?

Yes, except my GT was clocked at 3D(Performance) so it is at 515mhz/1.2ghz

Maybe im lucky

KickAssCop
01-04-06, 12:22 PM
You are not lucky, the card should do this much marks when overclocked to that spec on an X2 processor.

nV`andrew
01-04-06, 12:31 PM
You are not lucky, the card should do this much marks when overclocked to that spec on an X2 processor.

Oh ok then :D good luck with your system though. looks to big pretty good for a 'budget' rig