PDA

View Full Version : A64 help buying


Infinity666
12-22-05, 09:02 PM
Well its finally time to upgrade and im lost..........

The last time I knew anything about amd cpu's is when I had my Athalonxp. So my question is whats the diff between cores,clocks,and, pins in A64's. And also what is the best bang for buck A64 I dont have a lot of cash. I was looking to buy a 3500/3700+ is this a good choice?

superklye
12-22-05, 09:21 PM
Seriously...spend the extra money and get a 3800+. It's like having two 3200s.

Clay
12-22-05, 09:25 PM
I should be selling this soon...haven't determined an asking price yet.

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Socket 939 (Newcastle)

Infinity666
12-22-05, 09:37 PM
I should be selling this soon...haven't determined an asking price yet.

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Socket 939 (Newcastle)

Sounds good, is 3500+ comprable to 3800+?

a12ctic
12-22-05, 09:43 PM
Sounds good, is 3500+ comprable to 3800+?
3800 is duel core, so no...

superklye
12-22-05, 09:43 PM
No. 3800 is dual core, each at 2GHz. 3500 is 22Ghz single core.

Clay
12-22-05, 09:44 PM
Well, the 3800 is rated at 2.4GHz and the 3500 is rated at 2.0GHz. Both have the dual channel memory controller on chip, socket 939, and 512KB L2 cache. I've not overclocked my 3500 for any lengthy period of time but I have run it at 2.2GHz without any problems.

Clay
12-22-05, 09:44 PM
3800 is duel core, so no...
I'm talking Newcastle here guys...

Infinity666
12-22-05, 09:50 PM
Wau they make regualr A64's dual core? I thought that was X2 , I dont need an x2

superklye
12-23-05, 12:58 AM
Well, the 3800 is rated at 2.4GHz and the 3500 is rated at 2.0GHz. Both have the dual channel memory controller on chip, socket 939, and 512KB L2 cache. I've not overclocked my 3500 for any lengthy period of time but I have run it at 2.2GHz without any problems.
?

According to NewEgg, the 3800 is 2.0GHz.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103562

You must be thinking of the 4800...that one is 2.4GHz.

And the Venice 3500+ is 2.2GHz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103603

Newcastles may very well be different, but why would you want one of those now? They're 130nm and socket 754. :(

Clay
12-23-05, 01:07 AM
No, they're not all socket 754. I have this...

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Socket 939 (Newcastle)

I just replaced it with another socket 939 A64 X2 4400+.

He might want one because he said he didn't have a lot of cash.

superklye
12-23-05, 01:08 AM
Hmm...the only ones showing up on NewEgg are 754s...they must have discontinued the 939s. I thought that seemed weird that there were only 754s.

Clay
12-23-05, 01:13 AM
Newegg's stock on CPUs can vary quite a bit day to day. Trust me, there are 939 Newcastles. ;)

superklye
12-23-05, 01:15 AM
Newegg's stock on CPUs can vary quite a bit day to day. Trust me, there are 939 Newcastles. ;)
heh, oh, no, I do... :) And I would definitely smack anyone that bought one now, with the Venice cores out.

Clay
12-23-05, 01:16 AM
heh, oh, no, I do... :) And I would definitely smack anyone that bought one now, with the Venice cores out.Easy for you to say when it's not your money. (xmastong)

Fathertime36
12-23-05, 04:27 AM
Whatever you decide try to make sure your mobo is 939 socket, it offers a good upgrade path, from the lowly 939/64-2800 cpu to the $1k FX57 or any of the dual-cores, if you want to start off at the bear minimum try a venice 939/64-3000($130) there is really no reason for spending the extra cash on any of the single core 64 upto the 64/4000, aside for the cache you can exceed the speed and performance of a stock 4000 with the 3000 oced, why pay 200-300 more? all you will need aside the cpu is a good aftermarket hsf($30-40) and some good pc4000 (I had 2-512mb/1024mb total of dual channel Geil ultraPlatinum pc4000 for $130 at newegg that served me well enough) on a nf4 motherboard, prefferebly Asus, DFI, or MSI....and clock it up from 1.8ghz to easily 2.6-2.8ghz stable, temps are good, i.e. idle33 and load 43, max thermal threshold is approx 55, well within the acceptable limits on an air cooled solution. Stay away from the 754 socket, it is relagated as AMD econo line, soon to be phased out and used primarily on mainstream vendor machine to sale to peole who don't know any better or simply don't care, their trying to burn the inventory up, difference are memory multiplyers, size, and temps posted and power consumption(these two factor have a lot to do with limiting factor on how far you could potentially overclok the cpu), the 939 spanks the 754 as it should being a newer tech then the 754

Lfctony
12-23-05, 04:42 AM
Guys, isn't the Newcastle 3500+ working at 2.2Ghz? I'm pretty sure about that. It's 3000+@1.8, 3200+@2.0, 3500@2.2, and 3800@2.4ghz. That's for the 512K Cache models.

Edit: On topic, try looking for an Opteron 146/148, they overclock pretty well and they come with 1MB cache. Price is similar to the standard A64 models.

Fathertime36
12-23-05, 05:20 AM
I think opteron175 is ging to be my next cpu, should be an awesome ocer, it is kind of stupid how I' am willing to drop a lot of cash for a video card that will be obsolete in 3-6 month but I have a really hard time spending the same for a cpu.

Lfctony
12-23-05, 06:39 AM
The way things are moving, it's better to have a powerful videocard rather than a monster CPU. Example:

A64 3800+ with 6600 in FEAR - 800x600 Medium Detail
A64 3200+ with 6800GT in FEAR 1024x768 High Detail

It's very likely you'll be video card limited with new games. If you're CPU limited, frames are probably so high you won't even care. What's the point of averaging 100FPS instead of 90FPS?

superklye
12-23-05, 08:37 AM
I'm talking Newcastle here guys...
OH! I didn't read your first post correctly last night. Now I get it. :) Heh.

Infinity666
12-23-05, 01:59 PM
So should I wait out the A64 upgrade and get a 6800gs/7800gt instead?