PDA

View Full Version : Check out what I'm testing...


Pages : [1] 2 3

jAkUp
12-23-05, 01:42 PM
muahaha (xmassign)

EDIT:

Here is a video of the action :D
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-51784544344753709&q=%22Gigabyte+I-Ram%22+playable%3Atrue

Capt. Picard
12-23-05, 01:45 PM
Wow! Tell us more.

BTW is testing hardware part of your job.

superklye
12-23-05, 02:03 PM
Sweet! If only I had room in my case/on my mobo for it. :(

Riptide
12-23-05, 02:30 PM
How much space does it have? This is flash memory I assume.

npras42
12-23-05, 02:34 PM
Its normal memory (by that I mean DDR RAM) I believe. Being used as space to store information permanently.

marqmajere
12-23-05, 03:15 PM
Die, just.....die.

Riptide
12-23-05, 03:40 PM
Normal DDR isn't static - therefore can't hold anything permanently.

Nutty
12-23-05, 03:53 PM
It has a battery on the card that keeps the data in the DDR modules refreshed for upto 24 hours.

Its meant to just replace the swap file place, or speed critical data stored on the disk drive. If you switch your pc off for more than 24 hours, you will lose all the data. But if you're just using it as a swap file performance booster, then this doesn't really matter.

Capt. Picard
12-23-05, 04:00 PM
How Much will it cost?

jAkUp
12-23-05, 04:06 PM
A little over $100 for the card. The PCI closest to the card is blocked, so obviously, this won't work that well for alot of boards. If you don't have any PCI cards, it will work good.

Also, memory with spreaders barely fit. its an extremely tight squeeze. The Corsair I am testing it with is having problems though... its 4x1GB sticks. It BSOD's when installing Windows.... the OCZ's are working ok though...

Riptide
12-23-05, 04:11 PM
It has a battery on the card that keeps the data in the DDR modules refreshed for upto 24 hours.Thanks for the info. I was right though, DDR isn't static so they are using some sort of workaround to get around that.

jAkUp
12-23-05, 04:12 PM
Well, as long as your PC is plugged into the wall, it will also keep the data. It received power through the PCI bus even when your system is off. If you unplug it, or the power goes out, it will save the data for 24 hours.

Riptide
12-23-05, 04:31 PM
That's a nice thing. So can you use this as a virtual drive then? I assume it gets a drive letter?

marqmajere
12-23-05, 04:46 PM
a four gig virtual drive with DDR. nice Can you have more than one in your system? How fast is it?

retsam
12-23-05, 04:46 PM
you suck!!!(xmasgrin) , ive been looking for this for months now but anyways... is this a retail board or is it another engineering sample that they keep sending out to all the reviewers? what revision is on the board? is this revision sata I or sata II? great catch jakup, im really excited to hear more about this.

jAkUp
12-23-05, 04:52 PM
This is a retail board. Version 1.2. The BIOS recognizes it as a 4GB hard drive. AFAIK it is Sata1

retsam
12-23-05, 04:54 PM
oh ya is there anyways you can test this with 2GB sticks..just to see if it would work?

retsam
12-23-05, 04:56 PM
This is a retail board. Version 1.2. The BIOS recognizes it as a 4GB hard drive. AFAIK it is Sata1
ok cool...thanks for the info(xmasmile)

nrs421
12-23-05, 05:00 PM
bah hambug!!

retsam
12-23-05, 05:02 PM
bah hambug!!why is that?

nrs421
12-23-05, 05:14 PM
why is that?

i dont have one (snow=D) and i've always wanted to say that

retsam
12-23-05, 05:18 PM
hahaha.... jakup always gets the fun stuff.

Bad_Boy
12-23-05, 11:50 PM
Try installing a game on it and see how fast it loads :D

Rytr
12-23-05, 11:55 PM
Didn't someone come out with one of these a couple of years ago?

tacos4me
12-24-05, 12:17 AM
Install XP on it!