PDA

View Full Version : GeForce FX memory speed


ninelven
01-12-03, 08:03 PM
Took the model number from the MSI pic, K4V26323?E-GC20, and visted samsung's semiconductor site. Used the handy part number decoder they have there to check the specifications. Here is the link. (http://www.samsungelectronics.com/semiconductors/dram/part_number_decoder/dram_component_new.htm)

Here is the info broken down:

K4V26323?E - GC20

K - Memory Component
4 - DRAM
V - VRAM
26 -128M, 4K/32ms (density/refresh)
32 - x32 (organization)
3 - 4Bank (bank)
? - could be a 1 or I (Interface, VDD, VDDQ)
1 - TTL,5.0V,5.0V
I - SSTL-2 DLL,2.5V,2.5V
E - 6th generation (generation)
G - FBGA (package)
C - Commercial/Normal (temp/power)
20 - DDR SGRAM II 2ns (speed)

I don't know how or if you can determine the ram speed from the numbers, but I thought it would be interesting so I looked them up.

Ninelven

Bigus Dickus
01-12-03, 08:19 PM
The last one is the important one.

2 nanosecond ram has a maximum speed of (1)/(20 ns/cycle) = 500 MHz.

ReDeeMeR
01-12-03, 10:43 PM
So it already runs it's maximum? Hmm Geforce4 2,8ns could reach 700mhz np out of the box. Can you say "NO O/C" :(

nutball
01-13-03, 02:08 AM
Originally posted by ReDeeMeR
So it already runs it's maximum? Hmm Geforce4 2,8ns could reach 700mhz np out of the box. Can you say "NO O/C" :(

Explain to me, in detail, how you reach that conclusion?

zakelwe
01-13-03, 05:54 AM
You'd expect to at least get some overclock as that figure is just the rated speed. Whether a similar percentage improvement can be done with faster and faster speeds is difficult to determine at present unless someone has experience of using this sort of memory.

At present I'd rather have a gpu that overclocks well and a cpu that doesn't limit the card than worry too much about extra bandwidth as I tend not to use very high resolutions with multiple AA / AF setings.

Bigus Dickus
01-13-03, 09:45 AM
Originally posted by nutball
Explain to me, in detail, how you reach that conclusion? OK, but this might get really complicated.

2.8 ns = 715 MHz maximum speed (DDR), therefore with a lower initial clock reaching 700 MHz isn't that difficult.

2.0 ns = 1 GHz maximum speed (DDR), therefore with an initial speed of 1 GHz pushing it further will be more difficult.



Whew, that took some effort. ;)

spectre
01-13-03, 10:00 AM
Originally posted by ninelven
Took the model number from the MSI pic, K4V26323?E-GC20, and visted samsung's semiconductor site. Used the handy part number decoder they have there to check the specifications. Here is the link. (http://www.samsungelectronics.com/semiconductors/dram/part_number_decoder/dram_component_new.htm)

Here is the info broken down:

K4V26323?E - GC20

K - Memory Component
4 - DRAM
V - VRAM
26 -128M, 4K/32ms (density/refresh)
32 - x32 (organization)
3 - 4Bank (bank)
? - could be a 1 or I (Interface, VDD, VDDQ)
1 - TTL,5.0V,5.0V
I - SSTL-2 DLL,2.5V,2.5V
E - 6th generation (generation)
G - FBGA (package)
C - Commercial/Normal (temp/power)
20 - DDR SGRAM II 2ns (speed)

I don't know how or if you can determine the ram speed from the numbers, but I thought it would be interesting so I looked them up.

Ninelven

Burn-in means anything to you ? :D

Either way, I presume FX's main problem is its lacking memory bandwidth. Here we have a poor 128-bit controller (Z occlusion culling simply cannot magically give 48Gbs memory bandwidth when actually it's 16Gbs) and nVidia's only viable solution would be to increase GPU and memory clocks to their max potential in order to achieve better performance than ATi's Radeon9700 Pro.

Things aren't going very well for nVidia -IMHO, hope I'll prove wrong cause strong competition means better and cheaper products.

nutball
01-13-03, 10:00 AM
Originally posted by Bigus Dickus
Whew, that took some effort. ;) [/B]

:D

R.Carter
01-13-03, 10:34 AM
Originally posted by ninelven
? - could be a 1 or I (Interface, VDD, VDDQ)
1 - TTL,5.0V,5.0V
I - SSTL-2 DLL,2.5V,2.5V


Can't see them using 5.0V.

volt
01-13-03, 10:51 AM
hey 5 volts ain't much! :angel:

Lezmaka
01-13-03, 12:24 PM
Here's a link to the ram used on card in the MSI pictures...

http://www.samsungelectronics.com/semiconductors/Graphics_Memory/GDDR-II_SDRAM/128M_bit/K4N26323AE/k4n26323ae.htm