PDA

View Full Version : Satellite Radio

Clay
12-23-05, 11:11 PM
If you have any experience with satellite radio (SIRIUS or XM) I'd like to hear your take on it.

I'm thinking that if I get enough Christmas money I might do this. SIRIUS is what I'm leaning towards mainly because of all the sports programming they have (NFL, NBA, ESPN, etc) as well as a lot of good news stations.

The unit I'm considering is the Starmate Replay ST2 (http://www.sirius.com/servlet/ContentServer?pagename=Sirius/CachedPage&c=ProductAsset&cid=1126670694040) especially since SIRIUS has a $50 rebate going until the end of the year.

saturnotaku
12-23-05, 11:21 PM
While I don't own XM, I have plenty of experience driving GM vehicles that are so equipped. I'm a huge fan. The monthly fee for the commercial free classic rock station would be incentive enough for me, but they also carry MLB and NHL, not that you'd necessarily be interested in those.

Sirius has taken a huge gamble on Howard Stern, which I think could ultimately make or break them. To me, his presence alone would be enough not to use them, even if I didn't like XM.

So in other words, XM 4 Life. (xmasgrin)

Sazar
12-23-05, 11:23 PM
Its pretty kewl.

I personally use my mp3 player as my audio device but my brother has an XM setup in his car and its awesome.

The sports programming is great plus I REALLY love it when you can program it to give you a reminder when certain keywords show in a title on any channel (i.e. a song or artist) and then you can switch right over to it :D

Satellite radio is pretty kewl. If you can get your mitts on it like in a car test drive or a friends car, its a great option.

Clay
12-23-05, 11:33 PM