PDA

View Full Version : What are the do's and don't's about pcs and electr. and static

Capt. Picard
12-24-05, 09:28 AM
I'm not a very good technician. Actually I'm not a technician. After I took my old PC, Celeron 2.4, to a other room I kept getting shocked when I touch the metal case. I was bare-footed at the time. Probably not a very good idea. My display also didn't came up when I switched it on. Only after several reconnecting of cables did it come back again and after I donned some shoes.

What are the do's and don't's about PCs and electricity and static electricity.

Q
12-24-05, 09:43 AM
As long as you are not inside the case touching components, there is no issue with static. Once you open the case and start fooling around, go dork and get one of those wristbands that ground you.

OR

Just touch the case before touching any components. I've been working on PC's for about 7 years now and have never fried a component with static electricity. And I haven't even been careful, really.

wheeljack12
12-24-05, 10:40 AM
I have always heard and was told if you thought you had a charge of static electricity but weren't sure, to touch the power supply before touching internal parts. Is that true also along with the case touching?

ynnek
12-24-05, 06:15 PM
I would think donning shoes and/or socks would make it worse, since your feet dragging along the ground, especially with rubber soles against fabric would generate static.

Capt. Picard
12-24-05, 06:26 PM
I would think donning shoes and/or socks would make it worse, since your feet dragging along the ground, especially with rubber soles against fabric would generate static.

One would think so but for the whole time that I were bare-footed I got shocked everytime I touched the case which was quite a number of times, ten times at least. It was actually quite a strong shock.
But after I put on my shoes - nothing.

Absolution
12-24-05, 07:12 PM