PDA

View Full Version : Cant play any games.


savage70
12-25-05, 11:01 PM
Hey fellow NVidians whats up? Wow I am having so much rouble with this 1 month old system. Now I cant play any games. I am experiencing major artifacts, lock ups and crashes hard enuff to shut down my comp completely, I mean all power is shut off. Nothing is overclocked. COD 2 and Colin Mcrae Rally 2005 dont work at all. I mean they play for about 10 minutes then all trouble breaks loose. I am running Windows XP Pro SP1 and 81.95 drivers. I am only using one card now and still have issues. Any ideas? Power or heat issues?

ASUS P5N32-SLI DELUXE
PENTIUM 4 650 3.4
ZALMAN CNPS9500 CPU COOLER
OCZ GOLD 1GB (2 x 512MB) PC 5400
SONY BLACK IDE DVD BURNER
SONY BLACK IDE CD BURNER
SAMSUNG SPINPOINT P SERIES 200GB HD
MSI GEFORCE 7800GTX 512 x (2)
ANTEC TRUEPOWERII TPII-550
ACER 17 INCH LCD MONITOR
THERMALTAKE ARMOR BLACK CASE

a12ctic
12-25-05, 11:04 PM
check the temps...

savage70
12-26-05, 05:39 PM
What is the best way to check temps during gameplay? What program do u recommend?

ASUS P5N32-SLI DELUXE
PENTIUM 4 650 3.4
ZALMAN CNPS9500 CPU COOLER
OCZ GOLD 1GB (2 x 512MB) PC 5400
SONY BLACK IDE DVD BURNER
SONY BLACK IDE CD BURNER
SAMSUNG SPINPOINT P SERIES 200GB HD
MSI GEFORCE 7800GTX 512 x (2)
ANTEC TRUEPOWERII TPII-550
ACER 17 INCH LCD MONITOR
THERMALTAKE ARMOR BLACK CASE

crainger
12-26-05, 05:48 PM
Speenfan is great for CPU, motherboard and Hard Drive temps
http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php

For your video card either inbuilt control panel or RivaTuner works well
http://www.guru3d.com/rivatuner/

It sounds like your CPU may be overheating and shutting down the system, when you test the temps and the CPU climbs rapidly to a high temp, then you'd better check the HSF on the CPU

theslug
12-26-05, 06:00 PM
I'd suggest using RivaTuner because it can monitor your graphic card's temperature while you're playing. (Go to Customize in the 'target adapter' section, then click the second icon from the right.) Looking at the temperature in the Nvidia control panel can be misleading because by the time you look at it, the temperature can have dropped several degrees.

savage70
12-27-05, 10:47 AM
I installed RIVATUNER, but I was wondering is it accurate? I mean it only registers my card as having 1200mhz of memory, not 1700mhz. Also I only see one card.
EDIT: Ntune is not supported by my board

ASUS P5N32-SLI DELUXE
PENTIUM 4 650 3.4
ZALMAN CNPS9500 CPU COOLER
OCZ GOLD 1GB (2 x 512MB) PC 5400
SONY BLACK IDE DVD BURNER
SONY BLACK IDE CD BURNER
SAMSUNG SPINPOINT P SERIES 200GB HD
MSI GEFORCE 7800GTX 512 x (2)
ANTEC TRUEPOWERII TPII-550
ACER 17 INCH LCD MONITOR
THERMALTAKE ARMOR BLACK CASE

OWA
12-27-05, 10:56 AM
If ntune works for your motherboard, it can log temps during gameplay. I'm not sure if they provide that for their Intel motherboards though.

Edit: Actually, it looks like they might support Intel as well.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/ntune_2.05.09.html

wheeljack12
12-27-05, 12:51 PM
I know ntune supports the p5nd2-sli. Haven't tried it on the p5n32-sli yet. One, make sure that your Zalman is firmly in the corners tightly and/or the connectors have clicked. Have had others than myself with socket 775 coolers where the corners don't click and the cpu die doesn't get full contact with the cooler. I like the socket 775 cpu, not how intel designed the heat sink connection. Also, did you try both video cards solo to see if it maybe one card or the other causing the problem. Other than that, either the power supply is putting out bad power (defective) or one of the video cards is overheating.