PDA

View Full Version : monitor for 360: native res of 1440x900


ajay()
12-26-05, 08:45 AM
My widescreen monitor has a 1440x900 resolution; when playign throught the 360's vga cable, what kind of quality or distortion am i likely to get, and what woudl the best resolution to set up thru' the 360?

cheers

|MaguS|
12-26-05, 09:16 AM
You should just be able to play the games at 720p. Im pretty sure you can't use any custom resolutions...I know for previous consoles you were limited to what they were able to output to normally.

Badboy_12345
12-26-05, 04:13 PM
640x480
848x480
1024x768
1280x720
1280x768
1280x1024
1360x768

u can choose between those resolutions with the vga cable u should pick the one closest to your LCDs native res and that would be the 1360x768

MustangSVT
12-31-05, 08:00 PM
You can use 1360x768?

That's pretty sweet. I've got a Crt HDTV made by Sony which has 1366x768 resolution. I don't know if it has a VGA input though, I think it only has a DVI one (along with component inputs).

Badboy_12345
01-02-06, 04:46 PM
You can use 1360x768?

That's pretty sweet. I've got a Crt HDTV made by Sony which has 1366x768 resolution. I don't know if it has a VGA input though, I think it only has a DVI one (along with component inputs).

well that CRT then surely supports 1080i which is 1360x768 ;)
u can run it through component and set it to 1080i

Mesce
01-02-06, 05:43 PM
Can I ask, if I got a 360, I would be able to hook it upto my 17 inch TFT monitor that is great for gaming on using a resolution of 1280x1024 (native res) without needing a hdtv?

I never knew this was possible, I have a dvi and a vga connection at the back of my monitor.

GamerGuyX
01-02-06, 06:47 PM
well that CRT then surely supports 1080i which is 1360x768 ;)

Wrong. 1080i is the equivalent to 1920x1080 interlaced.

Can I ask, if I got a 360, I would be able to hook it upto my 17 inch TFT monitor that is great for gaming on using a resolution of 1280x1024 (native res) without needing a hdtv?

I never knew this was possible, I have a dvi and a vga connection at the back of my monitor.

Yes. This is why Microsoft created the VGA cable for the 360.

fasedww
01-02-06, 09:29 PM
Wrong. 1080i is the equivalent to 1920x1080 interlaced.



Yes. This is why Microsoft created the VGA cable for the 360.Wher are you going to hook the sound up too, I have a dell 2405 flat panel and a audigy 4 pro with a break out box, could I hook up the sound to the box and run it through my pc, just swithch the flat panel to the vga cable? or can't I have my computer running with the dvi connected and switch to vga thats connected to the Xbox?

GamerGuyX
01-02-06, 09:34 PM
I have a dell 2405 flat panel and a audigy 4 pro with a break out box, could I hook up the sound to the box and run it through my pc, just swithch the flat panel to the vga cable? or can't I have my computer running with the dvi connected and switch to vga thats connected to the Xbox?

Yes those are all viable options.

MustangSVT
01-03-06, 02:44 AM
well that CRT then surely supports 1080i which is 1360x768
u can run it through component and set it to 1080i
I don't really understand your statement. (snowman)

My CRT just downscans to 720p (1280x720) since it's a close resolution to 1366x768, and upscans to 1080i (1920x1080).

Wouldn't running 1360x768 (which is essentially my TV's "natural resolution") be a bit marginally better than just running regular 720p?

six_storm
01-03-06, 11:53 AM
I just set my 360 to 720p, cuz that's what all games and movie trailor REALLY run at. Everything looks fantastic!

Treason
01-04-06, 02:35 AM
I run my 360 on 1280x1024 widescreen on my 22" CRT monitor. 1360x768 widescreen looks too squished.

Mesce
01-04-06, 09:24 AM
I just ordered a premium will the vga cable come with it or will I have to buy it separately?

six_storm
01-04-06, 11:10 AM
I just ordered a premium will the vga cable come with it or will I have to buy it separately?

Sold seperatly.

Mesce
01-04-06, 02:45 PM
Thanks man, damn okay then ty.