PDA

View Full Version : Americas Army too slow on my 7800GT


Salamandar
12-26-05, 04:17 PM
This is my 2nd topic on the same problem.
Americas army is too slow on my 7800GT much slower than my old 6800GT.
The frame rate goes as high as 85 which is normal but then takes a dive to low 20's for no reason.
I've used many drivers and switch between winXP and winXP 64bit and still no solution.

My old 6800Gt was on a P4 2.4 and 1 GB RAM meaning that my old PC is supposed to be slower than the one I have right now.
Still I've never gone bellow 40 frames in Americas Army.

By the way my scores in 3d Mark using the 7800GT are as following:

2003 : 146xx (no overclocking on 7800GT)
2005 : 72xx (no overclocking on 7800GT)

nV`andrew
12-26-05, 06:19 PM
Strange, try the really old drivers, too (like 66). Your 3d benchmarks are on par, but that fps is real wierd. Does it do it on any other games? g/l

Salamandar
12-26-05, 07:11 PM
No it only makes such frame droping only in Americas Army, I only play that game but lately I've installed Doom 3 and played for some time, never had a problem at all.

I tried 78.0x Drivers up to 81.98 and Americas Army still hate my system.

agentkay
12-26-05, 07:20 PM
Do you have any other games that use the Unreal Warfare engine and experience similar issues there? The AA community is pretty big (AFAIK), how about checking their official forums for any members that also have a 7800GT? If its a common issue, it can be be forwarded to Nvidia and fixed in an upcoming driver.

Salamandar
12-27-05, 04:07 AM
The search option in the Americas Army Forums is not functioning!
So I'll do this manually.

jAkUp
12-27-05, 04:08 AM
You have all the latest AA patches right?

Salamandar
12-27-05, 08:33 AM
ya, I have AA 2.5 and use the hotfix for winXP 64.

The only game based on unreal engine that I have is the first unreal Tournament.

I'll see if I can try my friends Unreal Tournament 2003.

Salamandar
12-27-05, 10:55 AM
OK unreal Tournament G.O.T.Y. is working fine.
I downloaded Unreal Tournamnet 2004 Demo to try it out.

Salamandar
12-27-05, 11:37 AM
OK tried unreal Tournament 2004 Demo for about 30 min. never went below 73 Frames at any time!

SuperBORG
12-27-05, 10:27 PM
ya, I have AA 2.5 and use the hotfix for winXP 64.

The only game based on unreal engine that I have is the first unreal Tournament.

I'll see if I can try my friends Unreal Tournament 2003.


There is a hotfix for x64?

Salamandar
12-28-05, 06:57 AM
The hot fix is only to allow AA 2.5 be installed on winXP 64.

I can't find solution for this, Americas Army is just so annoying, what ever resolution I use I still get low FPS.

Annoying.

SuperBORG
12-28-05, 03:31 PM
i am having the same problem like you are, sometimes my fps will go from 85 to 2x and then back up. It looks like a driver problem, because back when I had a X800, I didn't really notice this.

Salamandar
12-28-05, 04:52 PM
Great, now it's 2 of us with the same problem....glad I'm not alone with this.
I don't like to blame Nvidia on this since Americas Army is allready coded like sh!t, but the strange thing is my 7800GT is slower than 6800GT in this game which is the game I play the most is so annoying.

agentkay
12-28-05, 05:27 PM
Great, now it's 2 of us with the same problem....glad I'm not alone with this.
I don't like to blame Nvidia on this since Americas Army is allready coded like sh!t, but the strange thing is my 7800GT is slower than 6800GT in this game which is the game I play the most is so annoying.

Maybe the shaders werenŽt coded with the 7800series in mind, but then again the last patch shouldnŽt be all that old, right? I think its a driver issue, check the registry for the games .exe and delete the entry/profile. I think this procedure fixed strange issues in the past with some games and at worst youŽll have to re-install the driver. Is it during the HQ mode (Nvidia CP) that takes the biggest hit, or are bascially all modes slower than the 6800GT?

SuperBORG
12-28-05, 07:15 PM
I agree, AA has some ****ty codes, especially the net code...

I do think in this instance it is a driver thing. I had a 6800GT and a X800 XT PE back during 2.3 and 2.4. If I play with the X800, I would not get this frame dip like it did with the 6800GT. When it does, I hear the hard drive loading data, to me, that sounds like the video card ran out of memory. It would be nice if someone who has a 512mb card would try this game.

Salamandar
12-29-05, 05:24 AM
I agree, AA has some ****ty codes, especially the net code...

I do think in this instance it is a driver thing. I had a 6800GT and a X800 XT PE back during 2.3 and 2.4. If I play with the X800, I would not get this frame dip like it did with the 6800GT. When it does, I hear the hard drive loading data, to me, that sounds like the video card ran out of memory. It would be nice if someone who has a 512mb card would try this game.

That's exactly what I have !!! :eek:

agentkay
12-29-05, 06:36 AM
That's exactly what I have !!! :eek:

IsnŽt there some ini or cfg file within AA that you can edit and increase the pre-load cache? Since you say that it also hits the HDD during the slowdown (or actually causes it). There has to be a way to avoid this by preloading all the data first. If its really this issue, then reduced audio quality and/or low-res textures should temporarly fix the problem since the game wonŽt need as much memory. Of course its not a real solution but at least it could be further isolated.

BTW, here is an excellent tweakguide for AA, especially page 8 and later should be helpful for you.

http://www.tweakguides.com/AASF_1.html

Salamandar
12-29-05, 07:31 AM
CacheSizeMegs=64....... I'll see if there is a better performance when I replace it with 256.

Salamandar
12-29-05, 08:14 AM
That didn't help much.