PDA

View Full Version : opteron or san diego??needed advice


m3touk_85
12-26-05, 06:43 PM
ok im going to buy new processor for my new system

i found AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 1GHz FSB for$228


and AMD Opteron 148 Venus 1GHz FSB Socket 939 for $235


i want to know why is AMD Opteron 146 Venus 1GHz FSB Socket 939 more than AMD Opteron 148 Venus 1GHz FSB Socket 939

see here:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?Manufactory=1028&PropertyCodeValue=0&PropertyCodeValue=517%3A7439&PropertyCodeValue=0&PropertyCodeValue=0&PropertyCodeValue=0&PropertyCodeValue=513%3A7422&PropertyCodeValue=0&PropertyCodeValue=0&PropertyCodeValue=0&PropertyCodeValue=0&PropertyCodeValue=0&description=&MinPrice=&MaxPrice=&SubCategory=343&Submit=Property

superklye
12-26-05, 07:04 PM
Well, it's a server chip, so it's undergone more strenuous testing and such. Get the Opteron, they're able to OC to insane levels on the stock heatsink/fan.

Top_cat2
12-28-05, 02:56 AM
Thought Id have my 10 bobs worth...lol
just make sure u r Mo/Bo supports the Opty, Ive heard a few reports that some r not meshing , but after firm ware bios flash u may be ok...
Im sure the guys on here have a list of supported Mo/Bo's,
If I had the choise id go for an Opty...but they r not all gauranteed to O/C insane!

m3touk_85
12-28-05, 08:49 AM
i hv eVGA sli mobo

and i want cpu no more than 320$

Salamandar
12-28-05, 10:13 AM
I thought you wanted Dual Core 3800+ x2 (mikec)

m3touk_85
12-28-05, 11:58 AM
no it was before when we were talking about san diego and not to buy from out

now the topic changed for dual core but for 64 or opteron

Salamandar
12-28-05, 12:04 PM
I see....(kngt)