PDA

View Full Version : powerstream 520


fred9000
12-27-05, 06:33 PM
ok! i have a ocz powerstream 520adj no sli , i plan to upgrade to a a8n32 sli
with a 7800gt gfx card , is there a major difference(other than the cable config) with the old 520adj non sli and the new one sli ready ?

heatlesssun
12-27-05, 06:54 PM
I've got the A8N32-SLI in my new rig and I just looked up specs for your ocz powerstream 520adj and I think that you'll be okay.

You'll need the 20 pin ATX to 24 pin BTX adapter, I guess the PSU came with one, don't now if you're using it now.

Also, as a word of caution, do you ever plan on going SLI with dual slot video cards and want a sound or other PCI card along with them?

If you use two dual slot video cards with this board, you really don't have any PCI slots available. There's a LITTLE room to squeeze a card in on of the slot, but not much. I'd thought about a sound card with this rig, but I think I'm not going to worry.

Also, for some reason, the Asus Probe is reporting a rather high motherboard temperature, and I've got a lot of cooling in my case, so I don't know what's up with that. I'm not overlocking anything.

But so far the system has been rock stable for the last two weeks. I did have a crash today while I was away from the system and couldn't trace it down, but that's the only hickup thus far.

Overall, I like the board and would recomend it, with the provisions above of course.

Good luck with it!

__________________________________________________ ___________
Windows Media Center 2005
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe Motherboard
Athlon 64 X2 4800+
2GB Corsair 3500LL Pro Memmory
2x BFG 7800 GTX 512 OC in SLI
3x Maxtor DiamondMax10 300GB HDD in RAID-0
2x hp dvd740 DVD Writer optical drive | 1x Mitsumi FA404M 7-in-1 USB 2.0 card reader and floppy drive
Antec P180 case
Enermax EG851AX-VH 660W Power Supply
Samsung SyncMaster 213T 21" 1600x1200 LCD Monitor



This is the biggest issue I've had with this board thus far.

fred9000
12-27-05, 07:18 PM
thanks, this psu is already 24 pin so i dont need adapter , it's just i dont have native pci-e , i have to use adapter

john19055
12-28-05, 09:53 AM
It has 33amps on the 12v line so I think you will be in good shape ,I hope so because I am going to a SLI set up and I have a 470w OCZ and it has 33 amps on the 12v line.