PDA

View Full Version : Handling Hardware: Safely...

nV`andrew
12-28-05, 09:21 PM
Well, since that other static electricity thread was a bout a different issue, I didn't want to ask again in there because then someone would reply and the original author would be flamed and so on.

I'm not super worried, but its my first build (a costly one) for the thousandth time, and I don't want to ruin anything. So, when I am touching my hardware and building my comptuer, on which surface would be the best to do this on (i have wood, tile, carpet, concrete in my garage). Should i wear shoes, no shoes. Stuff like that. The computer won't be on so touching the back supposively won't ground me.
Yes, I have worked on computer before, I want to be extra careful with this beauty though :)

Thanks again guys!

rev.
12-28-05, 09:40 PM
Best thing, rubber soled shoes and concrete or tile and use a static strap to ground you. Honestly, I dont even worry anymore myself...I just keep a part of my bare skin touching the case somewhere to ground myself. I think lately I have been in socks on my carpetted dinning room LOL..... Don't try this at home (rudolf)

brady
12-28-05, 10:08 PM
Maybe I'm just lucky but I've never worried about it. I was running around in my socks on our carpet during my last build.

nV`andrew
12-28-05, 10:18 PM
in ur carpeted dining room, and socks...

i was installing fans yesterday in our carpeted dining room with socks lol

Infinity666
12-28-05, 11:12 PM
you dont hae to be super catious wear shoes put it together on anything but the carpet and touch the case to discharge any static ive built a machine in my bed before while eating and watching some simpsons

brady
12-28-05, 11:16 PM
I remember how scared I was when I was installing my first video card at 14. I was so afraid of frying the "electronics."

nV`andrew
12-28-05, 11:38 PM
I remember how scared I was when I was installing my first video card at 14. I was so afraid of frying the "electronics."