PDA

View Full Version : Athlon 3800+ or Athlon X2 4200


Impruv
01-06-06, 04:00 PM
Well, it's all in the title...which one would you choose? Since I can get them for the same price...

jAkUp
01-06-06, 04:00 PM
4200+

nV`andrew
01-06-06, 04:02 PM
is the 3800+ dual core? If not, definitely go with the X2 4200. If they are both dual, go with the higher clocked one (4200, if there is a speed difference). Dual core is amazingly smooth and fast.

Impruv
01-06-06, 04:23 PM
No, if they were both dual core and same price, i could definately say the 4200 is better lol, but ones single and the other is dual...but the 3800 has a higher clock speed..

But jakUp is the man and he's says 4200+...(nana2)

jAkUp
01-06-06, 04:31 PM
But jakUp is the man and he's says 4200+...(nana2)

haha thanks :D

I raise your dancing bannana (nana2) (nana2)

jolle
01-06-06, 05:18 PM
is the 3800+ dual core?
There is both a A64 3800+ and a A64 X2 3800+

YOGIx213
01-06-06, 06:10 PM
I'm thinking of gettting an x2 3800 but want to know if the 512meg L2 cache has any major significance, as opposed to 1meg off a toledo core. Does it affect multitasking? Better benefits with more L2 cache or not?

jAkUp
01-06-06, 06:33 PM
Its just a slight boost in performance. Nothing significant.

YOGIx213
01-06-06, 07:18 PM
Cool, thanks for the response. I've been seriously contemplating an upgrade but have been pretty pleased with my p4's ability with multitasking. Gaming is a different story so I'd like the best of both worlds. My P4 has been decent but games are now getting more and more demanding so an upgrade has now started creeping into my head.

DiscipleDOC
01-06-06, 07:21 PM
I raise your dancing bannana (nana2) (nana2)
I don't want NO MAN raising my bannana! :bleh:

jAkUp
01-06-06, 09:25 PM
Sure you don't... :D

nV`andrew
01-06-06, 09:34 PM
Cool, thanks for the response. I've been seriously contemplating an upgrade but have been pretty pleased with my p4's ability with multitasking. Gaming is a different story so I'd like the best of both worlds. My P4 has been decent but games are now getting more and more demanding so an upgrade has now started creeping into my head.

I went from a p4 3.0 as well (yours is clocked higher than mine since u OC'ed it) and the x2 3800+ is so amazing compared to it. my frame rates are significantly higher and so smoooooth. i can do so many tasks at once, few days ago i was playing cs source, installing bf2, and degragging all at once. I coulv'e done much more. You will love the upgrade.


And yes i know there is a single and dual core 3800+. That is why i asked in the first place.

Disciple, i want to raise your banana with my tongue! :naughty:

jolle
01-06-06, 09:45 PM
Ah, I thought it said "isnt", while it said "is".. small thing but big difference hehe..
getting a bit tired over here.. hehe

bkswaney
01-06-06, 10:51 PM
Don't forget about the Opteron. ;)
Great prices and have a L2 of 1meg.

superklye
01-06-06, 10:54 PM
Don't forget about the Opteron. ;)
Great prices and have a L2 of 1meg.
Plus they OC like mad.

SH0DAN
01-06-06, 11:28 PM
save the cash and get an X2 3800+,with the savings put it towards some highly oc'able ram......then oc both...

Impruv
01-06-06, 11:54 PM
hmmm.....theres another thought:D ....but I don't know how to oc :(