PDA

View Full Version : Why is this?


ramjam69
01-06-06, 05:38 PM
Hi everyone.
I bought a Gainward 6600gt 128mb AGP card today and thought (and was told) it would handle Quake 4 and Doom 3 a piece of p**s.
Before I installed the card, I benchmarked my old card (ATi Radeon 9600 SE, 256mb, 204Mhz mem speed, 300Mhz core speed) using PC Mark05 and it scored 1289points.
Installed card as you should (removed ATi drivers and stuff) and benchmarked it - 720 points!! This is with a card with 500Mhz memory speed, 900Mhz core speed.
I'm aware that PC Mark favours ATi cards, but that reult was rediculous!! Tried Quake4, did the auto detect card thing, and it recommended 640x480, low detail!! My old 9600 would run it at 800x600 medium detail (sort of - got a bit jittery when there was too much going on though, hence the need to swap) Tried it at the same settings as the 9600, and it didn't run any better.
I installed 81.98 forceware from the Nvidia site.
Any help would be greatly appreciated

jAkUp
01-06-06, 05:41 PM
Strange... something is definetely not right.

What motherboard do you have? Do you have the latest chipset drivers installed?

ramjam69
01-06-06, 05:46 PM
It's an Aeopen VIA AK77-600GN mobo, and yes I do have the latest chipset drivers installed

ramjam69
01-06-06, 06:17 PM
Oh, that's Aopen for the mobo and I've had a look at the online results for PCMark 05, and I should be scoring 3500+
Damn!!

jAkUp
01-06-06, 06:21 PM
Well, if worst comes to worst a reformat will likely fix your problems.

jolle
01-06-06, 06:25 PM
How is the temperature reading on the card?
and what bus speed is it reporting? in the Info thing, click 6600GT in the menu in the ForceWare driver panel..

ramjam69
01-07-06, 04:53 AM
I put another HD I've got on the computer and basically ran the computer as newly formatted (i.e unplugged the power supply for my main HD so it wasn't working) and just put XP, DirectX 9.0c, Nvidia driver and PC Mark 05 on it and ran PC Mark05 and it scored 1269 points, still way below what I'd expect

ramjam69
01-07-06, 05:01 AM
In reply to jolle's question, the GPU is running at 55 degrees Celcius, and the bus type is showing AGP 0x/8x. I don't know where I'd find the bus speed

jolle
01-07-06, 06:51 AM
That was what I meant.. mine sais AGP 8x..
Hmm, anyone else have AGP 0x/AGP 8x?
I was just thinking if it for whatever reason was running PCI mode, but then it usually sais PCI under "Bus:"

ramjam69
01-07-06, 07:29 AM
I did notice with my Radeon 9600 that when you went into the catalyst control centre, it said under the SMARTGART settings the AGP bus was running at 0x. I've set the bios to run the AGP slot at 8x, 128MB memory aperture and all the other settings are enabled. Possilibly my mobo then, but that doesn't explain the vast difference between the benchmark scores I got using this Hard Drive and the one with only XP, video drivers and PC mark 05 on it does it?

Spyke
01-07-06, 07:32 AM
Did you forget to plug in the external power cable on the end of the card?

bugmage
01-07-06, 08:09 AM
sorry spyke this card doesnt have extra power pins, my xfx pci x 6600 gt 128 hit around 4300 in 3d mark but for this card 3500 should be a target, hmm it could be heat, do you have onboard video? turn that off, also what res are you running your desktop at? anything larger than 1024 by yada can kill bench performace, whats the rest of the system specs? something wrong when its performing that low, id might rma hmm idk if they would take your reason hehehe (nana2)

Spyke
01-07-06, 08:12 AM
Sorry but the AGP version of the card does have the extra power plug.

Capt. Picard
01-07-06, 08:37 AM
I were wondering about my 6600GT 128MB. I see that the GPU core temp, while idle (just browsing on the Internet and on the PC) is exactly 50 degrees C. What should it be, do you think. I also see that the default core slowdown threshold is set at 145 degrees C. Isn't that dangerously high already. Should I set the threshold lower. I only have stock parts with only one case fan.

Spyke
01-07-06, 08:48 AM
50 is fine, 75 at load is normal usually. Anything higher then that you need better case airflow. I agree the slowdown threshold seems way too high. I didn't think silicon would survive too well at that temp.

ramjam69
01-07-06, 12:51 PM
Hello everyone, thanks for the replies.
1. There is a power plug - I've got the card connected to the 3rd of 3 supply plugs, the other 2 powering my hard drives. I have a 600W PSU
2. The specs of my PC are as follows:-
Athlon xp2400+ processer
Aopen AK77-600GN motherboard
Windows XP SP2
1024MB pc2100 RAM on 3 stick (1x512MB, 2x256MB)
Gainward Golden Sample 6600GT Graphics card
Direct X 9.0c

ramjam69
01-07-06, 12:53 PM
I'm running the desktop @ 1280x1020 and the card doesn't have intergrated video

Gentle
01-07-06, 02:02 PM
This is most probably the motherboard GART driver for the AGP bus not loading properly.

Gentle

ramjam69
01-07-06, 05:36 PM
Is there any way of fixing this?

john19055
01-09-06, 12:31 AM
I heard you loaded all the drivers but I did'nt hear you mention the motherboard drivers ,because a 6600GT is way more powerful then a 9600XT.

ramjam69
01-09-06, 03:53 AM
finally got it all sorted - I reloaded the Motherboard drivers and then set the BIOS back to it's default settings and Hey Presto, Bob's your best mates' auntie's brother's uncle, everything worked as it should