PDA

View Full Version : Quad SLI Explained


jAkUp
01-12-06, 11:38 AM
Our friends over at HKEPC posted some interesting information on the NVIDIA Quad SLI technology through an interview with NVIDIA desktop chipset manager, George Myers. Apparently, the SLI technology on the Gigabyte 3D1 and ASUS Extreme DUAL cards is different from the Quad SLI technology. Each of the Dual 7800GTX 512 card is specially made and has an additional chip onboard to control the data transfer to both the GPUs for calculation. Quad SLI can be used on nForce 4 SLI x16 AMD as well as Intel Edition. The reason why Quad SLI uses 1-3 2-4 MIO connection method is to reduce the Northbridge and Southbridge HTT bandwidth usage as the calculated data can be transferred from the Dual 7800GTX 512MB card on the Northbridge through the MIO to the Dual 7800GTX 512MB card on the Southbridge.

http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=3105

Richteralan
01-12-06, 03:26 PM
well well well,
HKEPC is just copying from other websites and translate them into Chinese

hemmy
01-12-06, 03:58 PM
And incase anyone still didn't realize, they are 4 7800GTX GPUS with 512mb, instead of 256, not the actual 7800GTX 512 gpu

vert305
01-12-06, 04:17 PM
GOD I WANT ONE!!!!!!!! i wonder what it would score on the 3dmark 05

DoomUK
01-12-06, 04:37 PM
The philosophy of having quad GPU's is mouth watering, but I'm waiting to see what actual in-game performance, or more specifically what the performance/price tag ratio is like.

AFAIK, nVidia have so far been hush-hush on the technical bandwidth of the SLI bridge, which must be where a lot of performance is lost... That and, to my understanding, quad-GPU (or at least an application that utilises quad-GPU) is probably going to be CPU-limited to a certain extent.

jAkUp
01-12-06, 09:00 PM
So I suppose it has the clocks of the GTX standard version...

hemmy
01-13-06, 03:56 PM
yes, their powerpoint slide said 41gigapixels, which is equal to 430x24x4 (approx.)

CaptNKILL
01-13-06, 04:08 PM
So are they talking about a real 512Mb of usable memory on one board or just 2x256Mb? I still think it seems like a waste to have 4 cards in SLI when you really only get the memory capacity of one of them (because they all need to store the same data).

Maybe things have changed, but I remember this is how it used to be...

GitDat
01-13-06, 04:31 PM
I bet the King Kong Gamers' Edition would still choke on it :D

jAkUp
01-13-06, 05:08 PM
I bet the King Kong Gamers' Edition would still choke on it :D

Wouldn't doubt it :)

XP_GUN
01-13-06, 05:23 PM
dang and im still stuck on one graphics card. ;)

eva2000
01-14-06, 07:41 AM
GOD I WANT ONE!!!!!!!! i wonder what it would score on the 3dmark 05
1KW psu needed probably but mouth watering indeed :D