PDA

View Full Version : I got the Ultra 1337 Power Cable


Pages : [1] 2

jAkUp
01-14-06, 06:01 PM
Not the Ultra, Ultra 1337, but I got the 2nd in line :D

So, I have a 1KW PSU, a APC Line Conditioner.... so I thought, why not. I picked up the Black Onyx power cord from www.blackholecables.com. I had some extra Paypal money, so I just bought it :D

For some reason, the Power Onyx Plus cable doesn't have an order form... so I just got the standard one.

The pictures do not do this justice... this thing is MASSIVE. Its a 12 gauge copper stranded wire... I wonder what the 8 guage looks like! wow. It's also incredibly long. Since I don't need it to be super long, I guess for me it would be better if it was shorter/less resistance, but hey, it still kicks ass :)

Anyways, check it out, the last pic is the Onyx plug on the left, with the standard plug on the right:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=15663&d=1137282058

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=15664&d=1137282058

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=15665&d=1137282065

keith33
01-14-06, 06:05 PM
Holy tits jakUp, how much did you pay for that bad boy? And how would you judge whether there's improved current flow and less resistance as a result?

jAkUp
01-14-06, 06:11 PM
Well, you couldn't really tell without a ohm meter... you can measure the resistance... but most cables are extremely low in the resistance level.

In the past I went through so many powersupplys, and good ones too, I believed that the power coming into the wall was dirty, so I bought the APC line conditioner, and haven't had the problem since. I decided to go for the extra step and get the bigger, 12 guage wire, basically the 2nd best power cable in the world for PC's. It was $49.99! The plus model is $79.99!!! Will it make a difference? Probably not, but I just like to be safe :D

They have some really nice network cables too.

ViN86
01-14-06, 08:04 PM
jAk, thats $50... did i mention that its $50!!!111one

either way, im jealous, hahaha

Roadhog
01-14-06, 08:20 PM
holy crap.. a $50 power cable! I never thought id see the day.

Anyways. NICE!

jAkUp
01-14-06, 08:22 PM
Only as much as a game :)

Roadhog
01-14-06, 08:23 PM
that is true... But what is standard house wire? 16 gauage?

jAkUp
01-14-06, 08:26 PM
Standard house wire is 12 gauge wire :)

Roadhog
01-14-06, 08:28 PM
oh :D makes sence then :D

jolle
01-14-06, 08:40 PM
Benchis!?

acrh2
01-14-06, 09:12 PM
Jakup, have you run out of ideas on what expensive cool things to buy? :)

jAkUp
01-14-06, 09:21 PM
Jakup, have you run out of ideas on what expensive cool things to buy? :)

After this, yes :D

Roadhog
01-14-06, 09:28 PM
I think you need a cup holder for your PC. :D

jAkUp
01-14-06, 09:47 PM
haha :D Actually, after this the only thing that I really want is a Dell 2405. Thats it. For now at least. Of course in the near future I am gonna want some G71's, but for now I just want a 2405 ;)

Of course I also want an FX60... but.. damn, just too much :( I am also on the verge of getting an XB360

Roadhog
01-14-06, 09:55 PM
you could always get me a cup holder for my pc. :D

keith33
01-14-06, 10:23 PM
FX-60 > Xbox360, don't be a console n00b!

CaptNKILL
01-14-06, 11:15 PM
haha :D Actually, after this the only thing that I really want is a Dell 2405. Thats it. For now at least. Of course in the near future I am gonna want some G71's, but for now I just want a 2405 ;)

Of course I also want an FX60... but.. damn, just too much :( I am also on the verge of getting an XB360
If you upgrade to G71s, can you give me a good deal on one of yours? I want one so bad :p

gmontem
01-15-06, 12:18 AM
I think you need a cup holder for your PC. :D
Couldn't you use the DVD/CD tray for that?

Roadhog
01-15-06, 12:23 AM
I think it goes back in after a certain amount of time?

TierMann
01-15-06, 04:14 AM
Definitely a cup holder.
http://www.xoxide.com/xray1.html
My gf has one of those in her computer.

DCult
01-15-06, 05:53 AM
haha :D Actually, after this the only thing that I really want is a Dell 2405. Thats it. For now at least. Of course in the near future I am gonna want some G71's, but for now I just want a 2405 ;)

Of course I also want an FX60... but.. damn, just too much :( I am also on the verge of getting an XB360


Why is everybody so obsessed with that monitor. There are better monitors out there, and since you don't seem to have a problem with money, I would suggest the Samsung 244T (black) which is a better monitor, 6ms, HDCP, etc.

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=966291&page=3&pp=20

And if you want to buy the S-class of monitors there is The Eizo 2410W with 14bit color processing.

All of them (samsung, dell, eizo, have Samsung panels inside).

You can also wait a few months and get the 27 inch 1920x1200 from these companies.

Check http://www.samsung.com/Products/TFTLCD/common/product_list.aspx?family_cd=LCD07

rudedog
01-15-06, 07:54 AM
Sense I work for APC let me pass along some info and trivia

The line conditioner you have will keep your voltage at a constent by increasing or decreasing current as well as offer you power protection (the best in the industry). Great choice!

They are a great add on for any computer and Audio video devices. However they will not protect you from complete outages that can cause data loss.

Now the power cables you purchased are nice and worth the $$. What you get over standard cables beyond the larger gauge wire is they should weld their wires to the connectors on each end.

When testings, this is where we see the largest failure via surge damage.

Because your common cheap power cords simply stamp their male and female ends on this is where the weakest link is. This is also why you never plug your APC unit or any other surge/line conditioner/UPS into a cheap extension cord or surge protector. Always plug your APC product directly into the wall outlet.

Superfly
01-15-06, 08:15 AM
Why is everybody so obsessed with that monitor. There are better monitors out there, and since you don't seem to have a problem with money, I would suggest the Samsung 244T (black) which is a better monitor, 6ms, HDCP, etc.

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=966291&page=3&pp=20

And if you want to buy the S-class of monitors there is The Eizo 2410W with 14bit color processing.

All of them (samsung, dell, eizo, have Samsung panels inside).

You can also wait a few months and get the 27 inch 1920x1200 from these companies.

Check http://www.samsung.com/Products/TFTLCD/common/product_list.aspx?family_cd=LCD07

Affirmative, most all panels have Samsung screens inside. I love my Samsung 930BF 4ms screen its an IQ monster.

Superfly
01-15-06, 08:32 AM
lol - I just ordered there ultra 1337 Network cable!!!

after checking to see if they would ship to the Uk I could'nt resist either.

thanks Jakup.

jAkUp
01-15-06, 11:55 AM
Nice :D LOL which network cable did you get? I was thinking of getting it too... hehe ;)

I didn't know you work at APC Rudedog, nice to know. Yea I have the 1100 VPS I believe the number is. I'm not too concerned about battery backup, I just wanted clean power :)