PDA

View Full Version : O/C with generic ram


borntosoul
01-15-06, 02:34 AM
just want to know what are the current trends for overclocking X2 or opterons with generic ram- is it worth it?
im close to upgrading my system - i want to have 2 gigs of ram and dont wonna spend a fortune on mem(australia still sucks for prices).
im looking to get a 3800 X2 or 170 opteron and overclocking it to (around) 4200 specs.

edit, generic ram is $115 per 1gig,
corsair value is $140 per 1 gig. ocz performance is $190 per 1 gig

john19055
01-17-06, 06:05 AM
If you are going to be overclocking very high then I would just get the best PC3200 ram and you can set your ram to 166 and overclock away.I would get the Corsair select,but I have seen cheap ram overclock very good.

Roadhog
01-17-06, 07:43 PM
the best overclocking ram iirc is OCZ in general.. but the OCZ PC3200 gold overclocks the best.

nV`andrew
01-17-06, 07:53 PM
the Corsair ValueSelect will meet your value(hence the name:D) It overclocks pretty well, the best so far for value ram, good price too. i love my corsair value couple with my x2 3800

superklye
01-17-06, 08:43 PM
Yeah, I've got the Cosair Value stuff, too, and mine does 416MHz no problem. I could probably push it further, but I don't really see the need to right now. :) Great RAM, though.