PDA

View Full Version : My Venice is not recognized by any diagnostics


glObalist
01-19-06, 03:06 PM
http://members.chello.sk/globalist/cpuzvenice.jpg

I just replaced my 3200+ Winchester with a 3200+ Venice, flashed to the latest 1.B BIOS for my mobo, but I can't get any diagnostic utilities to recognize the CPU model and revision. What gives?

CPU-Z, Sandra, Rightmark Memory Analyzer and Everest are all up to date. Any ideas?

jAkUp
01-19-06, 03:11 PM
Hmmm... whats the date on that latest BIOS update?

glObalist
01-19-06, 03:29 PM
Hmmm... whats the date on that latest BIOS update?

The file is dated 7th September 2005, i downloaded it from here:

http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/bios/bos/spt_bos_detail.php?UID=607&kind=1

npras42
01-21-06, 05:48 PM
Isn't your core speed and HTT wrong. Make sure you have everything in your BIOS reset to default. On my CPU when i overclock it doesnt recognise the CPU anymore either.

glObalist
01-21-06, 08:07 PM
Isn't your core speed and HTT wrong. Make sure you have everything in your BIOS reset to default. On my CPU when i overclock it doesnt recognise the CPU anymore either.

Well my HTT does seem to be wrong by .9 Hz, although in BIOS you can't set this kind of value. Mem is set to 200mhz, HTT is x5 and CPU is 10x200, no overclock either.

Either way I seen some other people's CPUZ screens featuring similar fractional readings, plus I was getting the same 200.9 HTT reading with the Winchester (which was recognized), so that can't be the problem.

glObalist
01-23-06, 04:16 AM
I think I may have found something through a DOS-level checking utility (called HWinfo or something like that).

The CPU revision reported by that utility is BH-E4, which for single-core AMD CPUs translates to something CPU-Z might not be able to recognize yet - the new Manchester CPUs with one core disbled.

I found some info on these new CPUs here:

http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=...3&hl=manchester

See also:

http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/desktop/details.aspx?opn=ADA3200DKA4CG

That's the CPU I think I got. From what I've heard, it's basically a 3800+ X2 (Manchester) with one core disabled.

Note that some people will think they are buying a Venice with this CPU whereas they are not. Not that it really matters, as these Manchesters should overclock even better from what I hear.

Anyway, at best it looks like I should wait for a newer version of CPU-Z :)

100fuegos
01-23-06, 06:35 AM
I had two of those in my hands last week, I did notice something weird in the steping, those CG letters at the end were new for me. Never checked them with CPUZ or similar though I did think of doing it.

CaptNKILL
01-23-06, 08:14 AM
Time to enable the other core :D