PDA

View Full Version : Is DDR2-533 in a asus a8v possible???


Quick420
01-19-06, 09:50 PM
Will this memory work? Or should I not bother grabbing it?
http://www.oemexpress.com/index.asp?CartId={D00B2CBA-9847-4ED8-9515-4476C50C839E}
scroll down front page......if it does work I should be able to get my cpu higher,my memory is tapped at 221.00 right now(nana2)

einstein_314
01-19-06, 10:01 PM
Umm, no. DDR2 will not work in a DDR board. You have to stick with plain old DDR. The only think you can do is get faster DDR RAM.

superklye
01-19-06, 10:01 PM
Definitely not. DDR2 is 240-pin while DDR (which is what your mobo has support for, and your CPUs on-die memory controller has support for) is 184-pin.

You'll have to wait for the Socket AM2 Athlons to come out sometime in Q2 for DDR2 support, and you aren't going to want to use 533...it's equal to, and sometimes slower than, DDR400.

You'll want 667 at least, but preferably 800 or higher to get the most performance.

jAkUp
01-20-06, 12:58 AM
Exactly, DDR2 has much higher latencies... DDR800 FTW!!! :D

Treason
01-20-06, 02:49 AM
Exactly, DDR2 has much higher latencies... DDR800 FTW!!! :D

Hehe the world is awash with 4-4-4-12 DDR2 533 modules right now.

Quick420
01-20-06, 09:10 AM
Ok I'll just go with the kingston ram as tested by asus and mentioned in the manual.I'll drop in 2gb's and consider this pc finished (nana2)

Quick420
01-21-06, 12:54 PM
Lolz ....I'm back to the original memory.The kingston crap in the a8v manual is crap.Waiting on the replacement Kingston (hynix chips are crap imo)