PDA

View Full Version : How can I find out if my memory is running in Dual Channel on an Asus-A8NSLI


anticitizenzero
01-24-06, 01:42 PM
Like the topic says, is there a way I can check to see if my ram is running in dual channel configuration, I have it set up right in the correct slots I believe, but I wanna be sure.

K-1
01-24-06, 02:48 PM
Download CPU-Z from here http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php . Run it and it'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know about your CPU and your RAM too :D.

ViN86
01-24-06, 03:14 PM
Download CPU-Z from here http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php . Run it and it'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know about your CPU and your RAM too :D.
:werd:

btw, even if its in single channel mode, you wont notice a performance change, but if its in the right slots, it should be in dual channel mode ;)

SH64
01-25-06, 01:10 AM
With the DFI mobo i can see if i'm running single or dual channel when i start the PC (boot up screen). i dont know if that applies to the ASUS though.

jAkUp
01-25-06, 03:04 AM
With the asus you should be able to also... just make sure to disable the splash screen.

KoRnfR3ak
01-25-06, 11:19 PM
you have 1gb OCZ EL GOLD PC3200DDR?
and you are running at 1T command rate ? Stock DDR400 ?

one way to check if your ram is running at dual channel would be to benchmark it.
Run the Memory Bandwidth Benchmark @ SiSoftware Sandra Professional 2005

PC3200 DDR400Mhz means 3200MB/s (400Mhz x 8 = 3200MB/s , because 1byte=8bits, blah blah ...), so theoretically you should get 6400Mb/s in dual channel.
So if u get at least 5900-6000MB/s in the benchmarks result, you should know you are running in dual channel, considering an 90% bandwidth efficiency