PDA

View Full Version : questions about overclocking my Clawhammer


j0j081
01-25-06, 09:51 PM
My cpu is starting to show it's age in certain games ie Quake 4. I've been playing with some overclocks and it seems I can pretty easily reach 2.2 ghz on stock cooling making my 3200+ a 3400+. Anything above 2.3 ghz is unstable but I wasn't shooting that high anyway. My question is do you think it's worth leaving my cpu at 2.2 all the time? I gained quite a bit in the cpu section of 3DMark but not enough to blow my socks off. Looking at cpu charts on sites like Tom's though it appears some games may gain about 10 fps with this change.

Oh yeah, and I'm redoing my whole system early 2007 most likely and I have no money to upgrade.

Roadhog
01-25-06, 10:31 PM
just as long as you keep it cool and dont raise the voltage to much you should be fine.

j0j081
01-25-06, 11:33 PM
so if I run prime95 for say 12 hours straight will that prove stability?

john19055
01-26-06, 09:39 AM
If your 3200 is a socket 754 then it is not going to overclock very good ,If you default voltage is 1.5v ,then 1.65v would be the highest I would go ,I always ran my 754 3400 at 1.65v for over a year with no problems and my tempertures stayed at around 42c But I was only able to get a extra 200mhz out of it and had a clock of 2.6gigs .But you can set your memory at 333 and your HT at 3x and set your cpu voltage at 1.65v and you may want to bump up your voltage on the memory to 2.7v and if you can set your chipset increase it by .1v and now see how how you can go with the FSB.