PDA

View Full Version : Will GeForce FX have 256MB?


Pages : [1] 2 3

Gambit
01-17-03, 03:18 PM
Anyone know if and when the 256MB will be out?? I think I will be going with the 256 if they come out with one....I don't want to be upgrading for a while (unless I have too:) )
It will suck though if we have to wait till april-may till one is out.

Seems wierd no retailers are talking about one yet.

Gambit

Skinner
01-17-03, 05:43 PM
I also want 256 mb, a few UT2003 maps like december already need it.

I see only 128 mb ads...

Hyper_Snyper
01-18-03, 12:04 PM
Knowing nvidia they'll get one out with 256 megs.
it's pretty wierd thinking of a vid card with that much memory.
That's how much SYSTEM memory I have.

volt
01-18-03, 04:51 PM
I don't see a need for 256 version in UT2003 at all. Enlighten me ? :)

weta
01-18-03, 04:51 PM
Sparkle Geforce FX 256mb DDR 2 graphics card (UK) info/order here (http://uk.special.reserve.co.uk/reviews/info.php?code=GG2765&key=SPARKLE_GEFORCE_FX_GRAPHICS_CARD_FOR_PC&af=cc80)
Club3D Geforce FX 256mb DDR 2 graphics card (NL) info/order here (http://www.computerboot.com/nl/dept_81.html)

Leadtek have two 256mb GFFX cards coming, one with 500MHz DDR 2 (1000MHz effective),
and the other with 600MHz DDR 2 (1200MHz effective) memory.

marqmajere
01-18-03, 04:53 PM
48 gb/sec of memory bandwidth?! Can that be right? :eek2:

weta
01-18-03, 05:24 PM
16GB/s physical memory bandwidth, 32GB/s or 48GB/s effective bandwidth (compressed),
depends on who's spec's you happen to read.

Skinner
01-18-03, 06:05 PM
Originally posted by volt
I don't see a need for 256 version in UT2003 at all. Enlighten me ? :)

600 mhz, where did you read that ?

StealthHawk
01-18-03, 06:23 PM
Originally posted by volt
I don't see a need for 256 version in UT2003 at all. Enlighten me ? :)

didn't someone like Sweeney or B. Hook say UT2003's highest detail level was made for cards with 256MB RAM?

i'm sure the comment was linked to or quoted somewhere in these forums. you remember those threads talking about Ultra High detail level, right?

The Baron
01-18-03, 06:28 PM
OH YEAH!

The Ultra-High modes that had ATI fanboys livid because of a misinterpreted comment that they would be NV30 only! HAH!

Gambit
01-18-03, 09:22 PM
Good to know they will be coming out...wonder how soon. Only reason I want a 256MB is so I don't have to upgrade for a while! I went from a gf1 to a Gainward TI4600 but it died only 6 months later. New egg came through and gave me a refund....not a full refund but good enough! So it looks like i will be going from a gf1 to a fx:) I say that will be a huge upgrade.

pancakebunny
01-19-03, 02:17 AM
Greents everyone. I've noticed that theres been talk about the 256mb version of the GFFX. When I heard about the Sparkle in Europe having 256mb version, I decided to look into this. Something very interesting was responded to my inquiry.

As you all know, BFGTech is practically connected to Nvidia. I read that they are going to be Nvidia's 1# supplier for the Geforce FX cards and this would be because Nvidia helped get them started since they are a group of people who broke off from VisionTek.

Well, with the recent announcement of their card being preordered at Best Buy in the US, I had decided to send em a holler and see when the 256mb would hit. Here's what I got.

"Do you plan to release any Geforce FX with 256 megs of DDR-2 ram?

Thank you."


"I doubt you will ever see a 256mb GeForce Fx card released."

-Shane Vance

Sooooo, I'm confused now as to why I see 256 versions popping up for preorder in the UK. Perhaps we won't see the 256mg anytime soon, least not for awile. But I have emailed Leadtek, asking the same if they will be making an Ultra version AND if they will be selling a version with 256. No reply as of yet.

It's possible that the DDR-2 ram might not be widely available yet for selling and that they have to make do with the amount they have currently. Nvidia that is. Thoughts?

Oh! Thats right. BFGTech says there are no Ultra versions of the card that they know of or even exist. And since these guys work directly with Nvidia, what we might be seeing is alot of smoke being blown up for hyping the GFFX card. I really don't know at this moment but I do have a PNY GFFX on preorder atm.

Bonzai

weta
01-19-03, 06:34 AM
Skinner

On a French site.

Pancakebunny

Then why would both Sparkle and Club3D allow e-retailers to offer 256mb GFFX cards for sale, that makes no sense at all?

The Baron
01-19-03, 10:34 AM
Oh! Thats right. BFGTech says there are no Ultra versions of the card that they know of or even exist. And since these guys work directly with Nvidia, what we might be seeing is alot of smoke being blown up for hyping the GFFX card. I really don't know at this moment but I do have a PNY GFFX on preorder atm.

As far as I know... BFG isn't the main supplier. The big one is MSI since they've had incredibly good boards with the GF3 and GF4 chips (the MSI plain-vanilla GF3 could overclock more than just about any other GF3 Ti500). So... there will be a 256 meg version. Maybe not at launch, but there will be one.

weta
01-19-03, 10:54 AM
That's right, MSI also manufacture Nvidia's Geforce FX reference boards.

Skinner
01-19-03, 02:43 PM
Originally posted by weta
[B]Skinner

On a French site.



Found it, and tranlated in english:

When approach the launch of a new product at NVIDIA being attentive with the new last control Detonator and more particularly the file inf very often allows to discover than NVIDIA holds for us. Station Drivers has just found the pilots Detonator 42.01 of Leadek, and the reading of the inf file of these pilots teaches us that Leadtek could market 3 charts structured around the NV30 well: NV30.1 = "WinFast A300(0300)" NV30.2 = "WinFast A300(0301)" NV30.3 = "WinFast A300(0302)" One is about certain, the recent one communicates Club 3d was rather explicit, the charts GeForce FX will embark 128 Mo and 256 Mo of memory GDR-II given rhythm to 500 MHz, that NVIDIA probably names NV30.1 and NV30.2. Which is the third model? One can only speculate, but being given the price of the charts using GDR-II (600?!) one can wonder whether NVIDIA is not tempted to leave a version GDR a little cheaper, it is in all what a manufacturer made it clear that we recently met.

from nvchips.

nick800
01-19-03, 04:57 PM
when are they just going to start selling video cards with slots, and the actual memory indipendantly so you can just upgrade video card memory on your own hehe =o).

The Baron
01-19-03, 05:34 PM
Dude, that's how they used to sell video cards :p

My second PC (P200 MMX) had a Matrox Mystique in it--came with 2 megs, but since I'm such a badass, I took the plunge and put another 2 meg stick in for a total of FOUR MEGS OF RAM. Unbelievable.

Dazz
01-19-03, 05:55 PM
Originally posted by StealthHawk
didn't someone like Sweeney or B. Hook say UT2003's highest detail level was made for cards with 256MB RAM?

i'm sure the comment was linked to or quoted somewhere in these forums. you remember those threads talking about Ultra High detail level, right? Correct it's Ultra high detail. It needs around 160MB of texures due to current cards using 128MB they did not implment the setting in the menu.

eliteone
01-20-03, 01:59 AM
december rips my athlon 2700+, nforce2, 512MB pc3500, gf4 ti4600 to shreds at high detail. I hope the FX can handle it a little better.

The Baron
01-20-03, 02:23 AM
Originally posted by eliteone
december rips my athlon 2700+, nforce2, 512MB pc3500, gf4 ti4600 to shreds at high detail. I hope the FX can handle it a little better.

That's why you should be playing BR ;)

www.clanspp.com *cough* :p

Skinner
01-20-03, 09:00 AM
Dutch retailers are still claiming the 22-24 st. of jannuary for the Club3d FX 256 mb card, w'll see....

volt
01-20-03, 09:30 AM
Oh come on, 256 just for 1 game? :p

Skinner
01-20-03, 11:26 AM
Originally posted by volt
Oh come on, 256 just for 1 game? :p

No, two levels ;)

But I think it's the first off more to come, like Unreal2, DeusEx2, Doom3 ect.

volt
01-20-03, 11:44 AM
I have heard D3 will utilize ~90 meg textures. Besides NV35 is "around the corner" :cool: