PDA

View Full Version : CS:S wont work


nV`andrew
02-16-06, 08:23 PM
hey after finally getting my internet back on this system, i can play cs source. when the menu is about to come up, it says different codes and that the memory could not be read...whats this? ill get fraps and take a screenie of it

a12ctic
02-16-06, 08:24 PM
cs s sucks 1.6 for ever!!!!

grey_1
02-16-06, 09:30 PM
cs s sucks 1.6 for ever!!!!
That was helpful, go choke on a penguin.

nV`andrew
02-16-06, 11:25 PM
lol, so anybody no what this is?

nutcrackr
02-16-06, 11:34 PM
You might like to check the Steampowered forum for some help, it's a pretty common error though.
Have you read this?
http://support.steampowered.com/cgi-bin/steampowered.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=278&p_created=1100821608&p_sid=6Jo_Yk*h&p_lva=&%20p_sp=cF9zcmNoPSZwX3NvcnRfYnk9JnBfZ3JpZHNvcnQ9Jn Bfc%3Cbr%20/%3E%20m93X2NudD0yODgmcF9wcm9kcz0mcF9jYXRzPSZwX3B2P SZwX2N%3Cbr%20/%3E2PSZwX3BhZ2U9MQ**&p_li=&p_topview=1

nV`andrew
02-17-06, 12:09 AM
put my ram in 1T, took of file paging, got the latest drivers, and now im defragging. if not ill try reinstalling windows

K-1
02-17-06, 05:30 AM
try right clicking on cs:s in the steam window. then go to properties, then go to the 'local files' tab, and then verify your game's cache. good luck man.

nV`andrew
02-17-06, 10:28 AM
1584mb, is that what ur looking for? i tried numberous stuff and ill try repairing windows, sum1 will show me how, as i can't seem to see anything anywhere that has something to do with repair when i use the cd-rom disk

jolle
02-17-06, 10:34 AM
You can choose to Verify the game content, it checks so all files are intact. (as K-1 recommended)
I would prolly recommend you to run either Memtest86 or Prime95 "Blend" test (stresses RAM), sounds like that could potentially be it.. atleast you can rule that out if it isnt.

nV`andrew
02-17-06, 06:02 PM
ill try that, and right now im validating the files

EDIT: all the files were intact

nV`andrew
02-17-06, 06:32 PM
the 1024k test passed yay lol

Nutty
02-17-06, 06:57 PM
Do the blend torture test in Prime95, stresses ram more. Leave it running for an hour at least and see if it reports any problems.

I dont understand what putting your ram in 1T is supposed todo. That improves performance, not increases stability.

nV`andrew
02-18-06, 01:19 AM
they said to increase your timings and ****...i ran it for 3 hours, passed every test. not the ram i dont think. man this pisses me off

nV`andrew
02-18-06, 01:07 PM
seems like all my games are screwy. how do i repair windows if i don't see anything that says repair when setting up? someone really ****ed with my computer and i tihkn thats why my internet died and stuff

nV`andrew
02-18-06, 06:23 PM
k, repairing did the trick. thanks for the help

nV`andrew
02-19-06, 12:53 PM
well ****, it is doing it again. ill try a full re-install then...damnit.