PDA

View Full Version : Flight Simulator


Bearclaw
02-23-06, 07:06 PM
I am very much into games on pc's but i have yet to find any computer (whether my own or a friends) that can run Flight Simulator 2004 without freezing up, glitches, or just those annoying coughs. Now, could it be because every system I have seen it on is running a Intel processor or is the system just not good enough? I am building a system and I am just curious if you guys think it would run well. the specs are below for my system I am currently building:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ / 1MB Cache / 2000MHz FSB / Socket 939 / Dual-Core / Processor with Fan

Asus A8N-SLI NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard / Audio / PCI Express / Gigabit LAN / USB 2.0 & Firewire / Serial ATA / RAID / SLI

Patriot Signature 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory

Seagate / 300GB / 7200 / 8MB / ATA-100 / Retail / Hard Drive

XFX GeForce 7800 GT / 256MB GDDR3 / PCI Express / SLI / Dual DVI / VIVO / Overclocked 450MHz / Video Card

Just curious. I have never built one with a AMD processor so this is new for me.

agentkay
02-23-06, 07:31 PM
Its a great system that you are building there, probably one of the best high-end performance per price system that you can build right now. Iīm sure it will run FS9 well but of course you can never have enough GPU power, preferable with 512MB since FS9 is a memory hog, especially with a few addons. It also depends at what resolution you want to run it and how much AA and AF.

Mudcrutch
02-23-06, 07:53 PM
it couldnt hurt to grab a hard drive with 16MB cache.

OWA
02-23-06, 07:58 PM
MS FS 2004 should do okay with that system but flight sims in general have a tendency to be CPU bound. Also, make sure you install the AMD X2 CPU driver. It'll help some issues with games and if you're more willing to take a risk, you can install the Microsoft dual-core hotfix. It has almost completely eliminated any affinity issues I had because of dual-core CPUs.

Bearclaw
02-25-06, 12:27 AM
it couldnt hurt to grab a hard drive with 16MB cache.

Here is my updated system plan. I haven't purchsed anything yet. I am still looking around and stuff for best deals and what exactley I want:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ / 1MB Cache / 2000MHz FSB / Socket 939 / Dual-Core / Processor with Fan

Asus A8N-SLI NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard / Audio / PCI Express / Gigabit LAN / USB 2.0 & Firewire / Serial ATA / RAID / SLI

Patriot Signature 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory

Seagate / 300GB / 7200 / 16MB / ATA-100 / Retail / Hard Drive

XFX GeForce 7800 GT / 256MB GDDR3 / PCI Express / SLI / Dual DVI / VIVO / Overclocked 450MHz / Video Card


i found a 16 MB hard drive like you said. I am still undecided though between the 4400+, 4200+ and 3800+. How much of an advantage does the 3800 have over the 4400. It doesnt seem like a lot from the specs but i dont know a lot. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Bearclaw
03-02-06, 12:02 PM
uhm, ya.

Bearclaw
04-14-06, 01:25 PM
I went to install Flight Simulator 2004: Century Edition and found to my surprise that I was missing the fourth installation CD. Is there any way I can order just the fourth cd from Microsoft? If not, are there any options other than re-buying the whole game?

agentkay
04-14-06, 07:01 PM
Thats unfortunate but maybe MS will be able to do something for a small fee and proof of purchase. It canīt hurt to get in contact with them. If that doesnīt work, and you bought your copy, it should be "okay" to get the missing CD the (pirate) way.

jolle
04-15-06, 04:02 AM
Why 7800GT when you got 7900GT? pretty much on line with 7800GTX256..