PDA

View Full Version : HELP ME! Total PC Lock up from 7800GTX


Pandamonia
03-01-06, 03:16 PM
ok guys i am new here and would really like some help.

when i run games and 3dmark06 my pc totally locks up even the numlock light wont turn on and off...

i have just built this new pc and it is running at stock atm.

i have done 9hrs prime and 8 hours memtest and that was all ok. i have latest bios and nvidia drivers but now i just have no idea what is wrong...

i scored 31k+ in 3dmark01 but it didnt seem very hard a test

my spec is

DFI Sli DR Expert
Amd 64 4800 x2
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin PC3200 Platinum: OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K
BFG 7800 GTX 512mb OC
2x Raptor 74gb 10k rpm in raid 0
200 GB maxtor 7800rpm
NEC dvd/cd rw
520w OCZ Powerstream
Aspire Xplorer Case

GOZ
03-01-06, 03:51 PM
Whats the Amps on the PSU 12v?? Them 512 cards draw some major amps, and with that system your need a damn good psu.

Pandamonia
03-01-06, 04:23 PM
my power suply is considered one of the best...

Technical specifications
175x150x86 mm
23 dBA @ 60% load
100~120Vac / 200~240Vac 10/6a
200~240Vac only**
420W: +3.3V(28A),
+5V(30A), +12V(30A)
520W: +3.3V(28A),
+5V(40A), +12V(33A)
600W: +3.3V(28A),
+5V(46A), +12V1(20A), +12V2(18A)
Overvoltage/Short-Circuit protection
Independent adjustable 3.3V/+5V/+12V rails.

any ideas?

OWA
03-01-06, 05:17 PM
Make sure you install the AMD X2 CPU driver. I had locking issues when I first put my X2 4800+ system together also but the X2 driver completely solved the issue.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content_type/utilities/amdcpu.exe

General link is here:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_13118,00.html

Salamandar
03-01-06, 05:28 PM
Make sure you install the AMD X2 CPU driver. I had locking issues when I first put my X2 4800+ system together also but the X2 driver completely solved the issue.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content_type/utilities/amdcpu.exe

General link is here:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_13118,00.html

I was going to say the same about AMD drivers.
Give'em a try.
Good luck:D

Pandamonia
03-01-06, 05:49 PM
already done that :(

saturnotaku
03-01-06, 06:14 PM
Install the Coolbits registry hack and try lowering the 3D core clock speed by 25 MHz.

nVidiaGuru
03-01-06, 07:23 PM
try using the latest official 7x.xx series video driver, it could be the dual core optimizations they have in the 8x.xx drivers.

Pandamonia
03-02-06, 05:06 AM
ok the problem i get is that the game Freezes and loops sound but if u wait for a while it actualy unfreezes and you can continue to play...

i will try the drivers but so far no luck :(

Peoples-Agent
03-02-06, 05:09 AM
Usual routes on these issues.

Check for a BIOS update.

I'm pretty sure there is a Dual Core fix done by Microsoft somewhere, might be worth a look.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/896256

Also, just noticed your running a SATA 2 drive, out of curiousity... try disabling NCQ too.

Pandamonia
03-02-06, 06:09 AM
i have done bios and the hot fix,

what is ncq? i am running dual raptors in raid 0

BFG tech support cant help they tryed and im still gettin same issue.

OWA
03-02-06, 10:32 AM
Try adding /onecpu to the boot.ini file to see if that helps.

Pandamonia
03-02-06, 11:05 AM
i tried usuing afinity to cpu 1 and it doesnt i think im RMA the GTX