PDA

View Full Version : What I need to know about SBC/AT&T high speed Internet

saturnotaku
03-08-06, 03:18 PM
I'm currently in the process of setting up all my utilities for my new house (I move early next month). I have a bundle of phone, TV, Internet and cell phone through SBC/AT&T/Cingular on order. I was wondering about the Internet hardware I would need. I know I'll need a wireless router, which I'm going to pick up this week. As far as the modem goes, do I have to buy one through SBC or do they provide it for free? I'm not going to lease it because that would just be throwing money away.

I'm new to the whole broadband on my own deal since my current roommate's handled all that stuff for the last 3 years.

lytalbayre
03-08-06, 03:28 PM
SBC used to provide a modem for free, but I'm no longer sure since they'be been bought out by AT&T and the price has lowered to $12.99 a month.

Netgear makes a pretty sweet integrated dsl modem/wireless router (Can be had for $40-$60 if you look). Others make integrated units. I have one and would recommend it vs. using the provided modem & separate router.

You should be able to look at the ATT website for modem included? details.

dandano
03-08-06, 07:32 PM
The last person I know who got SBC DSL got a modem/wireless hub included with the deal, so maybe you won't need anything!

evilghost
03-08-06, 07:57 PM
If you end up needing a DSL modem let me know, I've got a Westel you can have for free; it has integrated routing/firewall/port-forwarding/NAT. You'd need a passive switch (or AP, if you're going Wireless).

Sazar
03-08-06, 08:22 PM
I am not a big fan of SBC dsl, but its primarily because of their contract and service here in parts of austin. They were just not worth dealing with.

Their kits are pretty all-inclusive. If it wasn't for my experience with the tech/customer support, I would probably say they are decent. And they give you a pretty complete package.

a12ctic
03-08-06, 09:12 PM