PDA

View Full Version : How much ram?


Bearclaw
03-12-06, 03:06 PM
I am building a computer (with operating system windows XP) and I am wondering how much ram to install. I was originally going to go for the full 4 gigz which my motherboard supports but a friend told me that Xp can't support 4 gigz? So should i go for just 2 (which he says it can support) or what? If possible i am going to go for 4 gigz.

nV`andrew
03-12-06, 03:21 PM
it can only support 3 with 64 bit processors i think? he is right about it not using the full 4 gigs in your case. Unless you are running servers, it would be a waste. Get 2x1GB that is ultra low-latency and tight timings in which you could also run 1T rate.

SH0DAN
03-12-06, 07:12 PM
2 is perfect for gaming,1 is not enough for newer games.

Bearclaw
03-13-06, 12:11 AM
ok, so 2 is good for gaming? Any tips on what kind of ram, as far as brands, I've heard pros and cons about a few brands but what do you guys say? Are there certain brands to stay away from?

a12ctic
03-13-06, 12:27 AM
Crossair and OCZ are the best right now

KoRnfR3ak
03-13-06, 02:29 AM
Are u building an Amd Athlon64 or Intel P4 system ? Or other ?

Bearclaw
03-13-06, 10:44 AM
Here are the specs for my system I am building:


AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+

Asus A8N-SLI NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard

Corsair Value Select 1024MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory
Corsair Value Select 1024MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory

Seagate / 300GB / 7200 / 16MB / ATA-100 / Retail / Hard Drive

XFX GeForce 7800 GT / 256MB GDDR3 / PCI Express / SLI / Dual DVI / VIVO / Overclocked 450MHz / Video Card

CaptNKILL
03-13-06, 11:40 AM
Are u building an Amd Athlon64 or Intel P4 system ? Or other ?
There are others? :p

Mr_LoL
03-13-06, 12:26 PM
Here are the specs for my system I am building:


AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+

Asus A8N-SLI NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard

Corsair Value Select 1024MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory
Corsair Value Select 1024MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory

Seagate / 300GB / 7200 / 16MB / ATA-100 / Retail / Hard Drive

XFX GeForce 7800 GT / 256MB GDDR3 / PCI Express / SLI / Dual DVI / VIVO / Overclocked 450MHz / Video Card

try and get a 7900gt if you can.

tieros
03-13-06, 12:46 PM
2GB is plenty for 99% of people, but 4GB makes a big difference for graphics editing workstations.

By default, 32 bit XP allocates 2GB for user processes, and 2GB for kernel processes. In that mode, installing 4GB of RAM won't do much for most people.

However, you can add the /3GB switch to the boot.ini file, and XP will only use 1GB for the kernel, and 3GB for normal processes.

For 64 bit processors (running 64 bit OSes), all these limitations go away and you can put in as much RAM as your motherboard can support (or your wallet can afford :D).

Rakeesh
03-13-06, 01:08 PM
2GB is plenty for 99% of people, but 4GB makes a big difference for graphics editing workstations.

By default, 32 bit XP allocates 2GB for user processes, and 2GB for kernel processes. In that mode, installing 4GB of RAM won't do much for most people.

However, you can add the /3GB switch to the boot.ini file, and XP will only use 1GB for the kernel, and 3GB for normal processes.

That would leave less than half of a gigabyte available to the kernel then. Remember that with 4GB of ram in a 32-bit environment, you can't use the entire fourth gigabyte because other hardware in the system is already using up that address space. Not much point in going higher than 3GB when running a 32-bit OS.

a12ctic
03-13-06, 06:15 PM
There are others? :p
via processors, ppc, sparc, yes there are just not quite as popular

rflair
03-13-06, 07:10 PM
Asus has a nice little PDF thats explains the RAM thing, its written by Intel.

Pages 8 and 9 explain everything pretty much.

ftp://ftp.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/4GB_Rev1.pdf

Son Goku
03-13-06, 09:29 PM
In most situations today I would say 1 or 2 GB... Some newer games, and distributed computing projects like this one

http://attribution.cpdn.org/

probably 2 GB... Look at the recommended system requirements for why I say that...

I've got 1 GB now, which in most cases I've run into is OK, but I'm on the fence whether I'll go 2 or 3 GB after Vista comes out, in part because I might go dual core sometime latter this year/next depending on finances. Hell at this point I can't even say X2, Conroe, or whatever the hell else, and whatever it would be, I already run a prolithera of projects and would assign WUs to both cores :D. Mind you I'll be going win64 then... 4 GB seems like overkill now anyhow.