PDA

View Full Version : cpu upgrade


rage10
03-12-06, 08:10 PM
I have a dell optiplex intel pentium 3 667 megahertz:thumbdwn:
and I am looking to replace the cpu. My dadwon't let me get a new computer, so I'm trying to find a fast pentium 3 and how much it will cost. aside from the cpu it is a good computer and the only games I probibly will use are :flight/combat flight simulators

thankes for eny help;)

Lfctony
03-13-06, 06:09 AM
The fastest P3 to come out was 1.4Ghz. I don't know if you can find one around, but make sure your motherboard supports it. Look it up in your manual. You may have to settle for less than that.

http://www.intel.com/support/processors/pentiumiii/sb/CS-007564.htm

SH0DAN
03-13-06, 04:58 PM
But how will you go about getting the mobo on the Dell to recognize the new cpu ?? as far as I know flashing a Dell bios is impossible.

ragejg
03-13-06, 05:23 PM
Get a Powerleap with a Celeron II 1.4ghz... I think they can be had for about $60-$80 bucks.

ViN86
03-13-06, 05:40 PM
it would be cheaper to get a new mobo and chip than getting an older chip.

rage10
03-13-06, 11:38 PM
it would be cheaper to get a new mobo and chip than getting an older chip.




cool! were can I get one? and will I have to reinstall WINXP?

sorry I forgot to say it before, the PCI slotes are on a rack that is removible and plugs in to the mobo, and the case is bilt for it

I will inclose pics of it if some one tells me how.

ViN86
03-14-06, 11:44 AM
you will more than likely have to reinstall winxp. however, some ppl have gotten by without a fresh install by removing all the motherboard/chipset drivers, then running the repair option from the windows xp CD.

you have to check a few things. first, is your video integrated or is it a videocard? if its a card, then you will need an AGP based motherboard (unless you want to buy a new one, in which case id go PCI express). if its integrated, youll need to get a card or another motherboard with integrated video.

then theres the issue of intel vs. AMD. if you game a lot, id go with AMD. a socket 754 motherboard and chip would be a good idea, as its very cheap and they perform well. however, then theres the issue of whether or not you have DDR ram.

heres some places that sell them separately and in combos:
http://www.newegg.com
http://www.zipzoomfly.com

rage10
03-14-06, 03:41 PM
you have to check a few things. first, is your video integrated or is it a videocard? if its a card, then you will need an AGP based motherboard (unless you want to buy a new one, in which case id go PCI express). if its integrated, youll need to get a card or another motherboard with integrated video.

my mobo has a bilt in video card but i'm useing a NVIDIA GEFORCE FX 5200
for pci,not pci expres!!! but were can I get a mobo that fits my case???