PDA

View Full Version : 1GB High Quality vs 2GB Value


egyteam
03-17-06, 02:47 PM
What will be better option ?

1GB high quality ram or 2GB value ram ?

mullet
03-17-06, 03:02 PM
well do you ever plan on OC-ing? if not get Corsair Value Select!!!!! :o]

Tr1cK
03-17-06, 03:16 PM
My ram falls under the "budget performance" category, but IMO value ram won't run 240fsb @ 1t.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820220040

It's a steal for $200 or less.

btw - Mine is at 2.75v

Riptide
03-17-06, 03:36 PM
Excellent deal here and IMO a better brand name than Patriot.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227210

a12ctic
03-17-06, 05:04 PM
I personaly cant tell much of a difference between my ocz gold vs. my crossair select until its oced...

dwhjr77
03-17-06, 11:27 PM
Corsair Select Value Ram all the way. That expensive stuff does nothing.

Moot
03-17-06, 11:54 PM
2 Gb value RAM for sure. I don't care how far the better RAM lets you over clock your system once you quit F.E.A.R. with only 1 Gb of RAM you will be watching the windows wallpaper peel back onto the screen. Also while looking into better RAM I found out that tighter memory setting don't make that big of a difference when it comes ot actual performace. 1 GB isn't enough any more. if you can afford 2 GB of expensive RAM 2 GB of cheap RAM + a better CPU insdead would get you farther ahead.

superklye
03-17-06, 11:55 PM
It's gotten to the point now where capacity is more important than the tightest timings.

SH64
03-18-06, 12:28 AM
It's gotten to the point now where capacity is more important than the tightest timings.
Yep! .. so 2GB value > 1GB HQ.

micron
03-18-06, 12:49 AM
I have Corsair Value Select, and it's pretty poopy at overclocking.

nV`andrew
03-18-06, 01:26 AM
I have Corsair Value Select, and it's pretty poopy at overclocking.

yeah but i rather have it then $1000000000000000000 1gb or less of high quality ram. and its very easy to push the VS into T1. mine overclocks decently tho

egyteam
03-18-06, 02:04 AM
here is the 2GB choices I can afford:

2GB Ram

- Kingston KVR400X64C3AK2/2G 2GB Value RAM DDR400(PC3200) CL3 DIMM, Kit of 2 - 1GB, 184pin, Non-ECC. Retail Box
- Mushkin EM3200 2GB (2X1024MB) Computer Memory 991461, DDR 400MHz (PC-3200), Dual Channel Kit, 184 Pin, Unbuffered
- GeIL Value 1GBx2 PC3200 DDR400 Computer Memory, GE1GB3200L, 184-Pin
- Corsair Value Select 1GBx2 DDR 400 (PC 3200) SDRAM Memory, 184-Pin, Unbuffered, Model: VS1GB400C3

Riptide
03-18-06, 09:13 AM
Dude... Just get the OCZ I linked to. It's better than everything else mentioned in the above post and after the mail-in it's just as cheap.

The Bigman
03-18-06, 10:25 AM
This is an issue i have too with my wifes PC. We just left the 2 gigs of Value Ram in it for know till i get another 1 gig kit of 2.2.2.5 ram from Corsair.

Capt. Picard
03-18-06, 11:24 AM
This is an issue i have too with my wifes PC. We just left the 2 gigs of Value Ram in it for know till i get another 1 gig kit of 2.2.2.5 ram from Corsair.

Wow. 2GB in your wife's pc. What does she do, programming, video editing or gaming?

superklye
03-18-06, 11:47 AM
Get this stuff...it's amazing and now with an additional instant $40 off along with the $40 MIR, it's $119.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575

SLippe
03-18-06, 12:28 PM
Get this stuff...it's amazing and now with an additional instant $40 off along with the $40 MIR, it's $119.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575
Yup, I suggest this as well. I plan on taking advangtage of this, hopefully.

mullet
03-18-06, 12:51 PM
Get this stuff...it's amazing and now with an additional instant $40 off along with the $40 MIR, it's $119.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575


WOW, thats hard to beat anyway you look at it. BUY THAT!!!!!!!! Hell 2x1Gb of Corsair value select is 136.00

Rakeesh
03-18-06, 01:11 PM
I just buy generic memory that has a lifetime warranty. You can't possibly go wrong with that, especially when the retailer who sells it to you honors that lifetime warranty. And you save craploads of money.

betterdan
03-18-06, 01:59 PM
I say go with the OCZ . Their memory is decent priced and it has great timings.

TheManko
03-18-06, 05:58 PM
1 gig is not enough for Fear or Battlefield 2 with max settings, so go at least for 1.5, because not even 1.25 is enough for them. Or just go with 2 gigs and be done with it.

betterdan
03-18-06, 06:16 PM
TheManko is correct. I had 1gb and Fear and Battlefield 2 would always stutter while the hard drive was being accessed and whenever I would quit the games it would take a while for windows to recover and free up all the ram the games were hogging. I had 2 extra 256mb sticks laying around so I installed them for a total of 1.5gb and it helped a lot but it still would access the hard drive sometimes and the recovery after the games were shut down took less time but could have been better. After installing 2gb these problems are completely gone. I would recommend 2gb for maximum performance.

john19055
03-18-06, 08:25 PM
With todays cpu like the A64 or a X2 the timming does not make that much difference like it did with a XP or Barton,so I would go with 2gigs of cheaper ram over a high dollar 1gig set,I have had real good luck with the 2gig of Patriot ram that I have and it will do 260FSB at 3-3-3-9-1T at 1-1 settings,but at the default setting of 2-3-2-5-1T 217FSB was as high as I could get it to run stable,but this did'nt manner to me since I use the 166mhz divider for overclocking.