PDA

View Full Version : 7800 GS performance problems


Executor VI
03-21-06, 02:11 PM
Hey guys, I just got me a BFG 7800 GS OC, upgrading my crappy 9800 Pro. I was expecting a pretty huge jump... instead I only get a measly one. I'm sure the card is great as I've seen lots of great reviews for it. I think there's something wrong on my end, something preventing my card from performing as it should. I've tried everything but I'm completely stuck now (and frustrated).

In Doom 3, High Quality, 1024x768, default settings, and NO AA/AF, I'm getting about 50fps on demo1. I mean, I could pull that off with the 9800 Pro... other benchmarks are showing minimum 100fps average on this, even with AA/AF enabled.

In HL2 I'm getting nearly the same in-game fps as my 9800 Pro, maybe 15-20 fps increase... I refuse to believe that a newly released $300 card is gonna have that little increase from a 2-3 year old card.

With 3dmark06 I get 2705, which is fairly acceptable I think - 3dmark scores are one thing, but my in-game performance is total crap.

The rest of my parts are a bit older but I don't think it should make such a drastic difference:

P4 3.06ghz (b)
1.5ghz Corsair DDR400 RAM
BFG Geforce 7800 GS OC
Asus P4PE-BP motherboard
Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Vantec Stealth 470W Power Supply
WinXP Pro SP2

My mobo only does 4x AGP but again I don't think that would make such a huge difference. All drivers and such are up to date, all parts at default clock settings. Running the latest Forceware drivers. Even reformatted, no change.

Any ideas?

Carbon Unit
03-21-06, 04:04 PM
Your not running your ram in dual channel?

Executor VI
03-21-06, 04:12 PM
Motherboard doesn't support dual channel. :(

Intel17
03-21-06, 04:45 PM
It definitely should not be performing like that. I upgraded from a 9800 pro to a 7800 GS as well, and I'm running similar CPU power (3.2 @ 3.8GHz).

Did you make sure to completely eradicate the ATI drivers before you installed your 7800GS? Are you running the latest Nvidia drivers?

Executor VI
03-21-06, 06:38 PM
Yea, latest Forceware 84.21. I even reformatted just in case, but no difference.

Carbon Unit
03-21-06, 07:49 PM
Motherboard doesn't support dual channel. :(
Well your board maybe a little old and it's single channel DDR with the 533Mhz fsb, so that will slow you down compared to the higher FSB mother boards that support dual channel, the front side bus plays a major role in gaming performance

Terminator
03-22-06, 02:19 AM
if you have the chance,test the card on another system...a better system

Executor VI
03-22-06, 10:40 PM
I'm pretty convinced that it's because my motherboard is so old...

Oh well, I've decided to sell this thing and get a new processor/motherboard (A64 X2 3800+ / A8N32-SLI) and get me a 7900 GT. :D

If anyone wants to buy a 7800 GS I'll post it up on the trade forum in a few days.